Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

swapping gauge cluster, correct milage?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by muddybuddy, Mar 12, 2007.

  1. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    i was wondering, when swapping in a different gauge cluster, is it possible to get the milage on the cluster to match the vehicle? if so how do you do it? iv heard bout using a drill, but i dont know if that was for chevy's or what. any idea? thanks
     
  2. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    Take teh speedo apart and reset the mileage
     
  3. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    how hard is that to do?
     
  4. Metrodps

    Metrodps Strange but nice guy Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    108
    Location:
    earth
    On an odometer with out trip odometer it is pretty easy. The ones with a trip odometer I have had no luck broke a needle on the one I tried. Now I have to think on describing how to take it apart how soon you need to do it?
     
  5. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    not for a while, just researching before i need to;) the cluster is going to have trip on it. im just hoping its not too hard
     
  6. readymix

    readymix 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    Forgot to mention that I have obly done it to the non trip clusters.
     
  7. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    crap, i hope it can be done. even if i have to take it all the way to 99,999 and restart at 0 to get to the right milage i dont care haha
     
  8. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Lets see, 2000 cable revolutions per mile, 40,000 miles, might be there awhile!

    I guess some of the dremels are 20000RPM or so, that would speed things up.

    Apparently though, the GM speedometers are made to NOT line up correctly once they've been flipped, so you can tell at a glance. You'll notice that on many speedometers of our vintage that are high mileage...the numbers are no longer straight across. Just depends if you really care about looks or not.
     
  9. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    i just want to keep an accurate record of the milage, doesnt have to be perfect:D
     

Share This Page