Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Swapping gauges..

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 73k5blazer, Dec 28, 2002.

  1. 73k5blazer

    73k5blazer Unplug the matrix cable from the back of your head Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    The Rustbelt
    I'm swapping my Idiot light cluster for one with gauges in an '86
    Full-size I just bought with 4.3V6, Three on-the-tree (yes, it's a 4x4!), bone stock, 90,000mi. (Some goofy super savings special package offered, so the original owner told me). I've
    procured and installed a factory gauge cluster from a '90 burban
    (Swapped the speedo's so I would have correct milage, plus the '90 had
    some sensor with wires on it's speedo). I've got the re-mapping of the
    cluster pinout down, all the lights and gauges work, but have a couple
    of minor problems.
    The Oil-pressure gauge works fine, but seems "jerky". It seems to be
    right, but when I step on the gas from Idle it seems to jerk up from
    30/40 to 50/60 range, rather than a nice smooth motion I'm used to in my
    mechanical gauged '73. I bought the sensor correct for "with gauges'
    (single terminal, big barrel type) and scewed it into the other half of
    the y fitting already on my block. Wrong sensor, fried gauge?
    Secondly, the Temp reading seems high (220-230). I know these gauges
    aren't very accurate, but I know the truck isn't really running that
    high. The gauge takes it's time to come up, just like it should. Two
    months ago I flushed the system, replaced the thermostat(190), and
    re-filled. (I used Dex-cool because that's what all my other newer cars
    take, which I just flushed as well, and I had it around, that's not a
    problem is it, using Dex-cool in an older car). The sensor I bought that
    goes with the gauges has two wires on, yellow and black. I seem to
    have found two theories for this and don't know which one it is. Yellow
    is the "variable" wire and black is the on/off for a computer (Which
    this truck isn't equipped with). Or Yellow is variable and black is
    ground. The gauge didn't function at all until I grounded that black
    wire. Is that right?
    The other possibility is that I screwed the sensor into the fitting on
    the top of the water pump. The two fittings on the block near the water
    inlet were taken with these big nasty fittings with vacuum lines
    sticking out of them. So, not wanting to mess with the nasty, brittle
    vaccum lines at this time, I used the water pump fitting (with an adaptor).

    Any help with these is appreciated...

    BlazerMan
     
  2. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    At least for the temp sender for the gauge, it should be a ONE wire piece. ECM temp sensors are always 2 wires AFAIK.

    No clue on the oil though, sorry. Could be gauge or sender.
     
  3. 73k5blazer

    73k5blazer Unplug the matrix cable from the back of your head Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    The Rustbelt
    That's what I thought, and that's the way my '73 K5 is, one wire. But when I went to the parts store and had 'em give me the sensor for my truck with gauges, that's what I got, a 2 wire sensor. I confirmed by looking up the GM part number in my '86 GM parts book, calling a dealer who had it and asked him if it was 1 or two wires. He said 2. My truck does not have an ECM, it is a carb'd 4.3V6, completely stock complete with A.I.R and the mess of nasty vacuum lines...Oh well...it seems to work ok, just reads a little high..but as long as I know where it normally reads I'm ok....

    BlazerMan
     
  4. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Chew on these part numbers out of my '85/86 GM parts manual:

    Group 1.150 Sender-Sensor-Switch-Switch Pkg-Wire, Coolant Temperature (Engine Unit)

    1985-1986

    CK2,3(454) w/Gages 8993106 (Sender Coolant Temp)
    CK1,2,3 w/gages 8993146
    (Sensor Coolant Temp 3/8-18 thread, lock blade connector)
    G1,2,3 w/raly gages 8993146
    P2,3(6.2J,292T,350M 8993146
    CKG1,2,3(4.3) 25036136
    (except rally gages Z53)
    (Switch Coolant Temp 3/8-18 thread, 1 blade terminal)

    CK1,2(305F,H,350L) 14080627
    (accelerator pump coolant temp)
    CK1,2(4.3N)W/AT 14080627

    1986 only

    CKG1,2,3(4.3,292,305,350)(Except Gages) 25036371
    Switch Package Coolant Temp

    Looks to me that if the thing is a switch, it's a non gauge application, which would trigger the idiot light. The accelerator pump app would be for the funky mix control non ECM carbs AFAIK.

    There's enough variation and part #'s there that I'd be leery of something showing the wrong temp and still being correct, especially with 2 wires. My '74 block/sender works with my '81+ gauges no problem, and same on my dads '74 truck. Both are one wire, with the sender having the flat round connecter.

    Even on '81-90 CCC multi-make GM cars (ECM carbed RWD V8 Pontiac, Olds, Chev cars) there were two senders, one was ECM (and two wire) and one was the sender for the gauge, one wire.

    You are right, as with all the other gauges, if it varies from normal, you know you've (probably) got a problem, and you'd be ok as long as it did something like increase the temp reading on the gauge.
     

Share This Page