Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

swapping TBI 350 for TBI 454

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by beater_k20, Dec 7, 2006.

  1. beater_k20

    beater_k20 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Posts:
    10,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    can this be done without a 454 wiring harness? ie, can i reuse my 350 harness. i know some custom tuning will be in order, but that was expected anyways.
     
  2. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
  3. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    Yeh it can be done, on mine I think the TPS was the same, but the IAC was different.
     
  4. Russ

    Russ 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    509
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Summerdale AL
    I swapped in a 454 harness when I did the 350TBI to 454TBI swap. I believe the 350 harness would have worked by swapping out a couple of the connectors as stated by others, but with the larger engine size it would have been a stretch to try and make the harness fit right. If you have access to a 454 harness it will fit and look better.

    Russ
     
  5. beater_k20

    beater_k20 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Posts:
    10,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    just thinking, because i have a 350 harness already in the 92, and i've got my eye on a 454 with TBI. no harness, and 454 TBI trucks are hard to find in yards around here. :thinking:
     
  6. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    buy it, figure it out later.

    i used a 4.3 harness on a 350 swap in a s10. we had to lengthen a few wires (o2 and knock sensor), but all the plugs are the same from the 4.3 to the 350. you can buy just the pig tail for anything that is different and rewire it to use your 350 harness.
     

Share This Page