Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

swapping to diesel....hydroboost as well?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by muddybuddy, Sep 7, 2006.

  1. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    ive found a '86 diesel k10 locally, the guys wants $1000 or so for it. the body apprears to be in very good condition, and its also got a plow on it. only thing is that the frame is rusted pretty bad. anyways, im planning on buying it and swapping the diesel into my rig and then parting the rest of it out. anyways, since the truck is complete and rungs great, should i swap the 1/2ton hydroboost into my k5? ive got 60/14 combo with rear discs. if i have all the parts is it hard? worth it or not?
     
  2. 79k20350

    79k20350 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ct
    i thought you had to run hydro boost with diesel because of vacum reasons:confused:
     
  3. 73k5blazer

    73k5blazer Unplug the matrix cable from the back of your head Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    The Rustbelt
    You pretty much have to run the hydroboost, for vacuum reasons. Diesel engines don't make enough vacuum to run a vacuum booster properly. Some rare diesels you might find (I think some of the 70's euro cars) had a vacuum pump to supply the vaccum. Most diesels use hydroboost though.
    If all the parts are there, should be no problem. Should be more predictable and better braking response as well.
    Only trickly part to the swap would be if the doner is not the same tranny style as the receiving vehicle (auto or manual). Then you'll need to do something special with the pump pushrod. (Rod connects brake pedal through firewall to booster).
     
  4. MTMike

    MTMike 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    You have to have HB on a diesel because diesel engines produce no vacuum
     
  5. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    do you? :dunno: thats why im askin :D
     
  6. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    well the donor has a 700r4, mine currently has a 700r4 as well, but im going to be swapping in a 4L80E, but since they are both auto's it should be fine tho?
     
  7. bear76

    bear76 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    here
    Check www.jondiesel.com . He is in the DC area. I just got a nice m1009 from him and saw his lot. He has a few 1009's for parts and other stuff. He just got the site working, not alot of pics, but I would call him If I were you. Tell him George sent you. BTW, I think I saw the k10 your looking at on craigslist, what a rotbox.
     
  8. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    the body looked pretty solid, the frame just had rust. thanks ill check out that site
     
  9. 73k5blazer

    73k5blazer Unplug the matrix cable from the back of your head Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    The Rustbelt
    Should be. I can't remember if it was something to do with the pedal itself, or the stud on the pedal where the pushrod mounts. I think it was the stud, it's a different diameter, so you might have to swap the pedal. I don't remember exactly though. It's pretty obvious and straightforward though, you'll see when you get into it.If the pedal on the donor is an auto and yours in an auto, any parts should swap right over. Pretty easy job with a complete donor right next to it.
     
  10. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,954
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    The rod is attached to the boopster (vacuum or hydro), so that's easy, but the pedal pivot point is different so it's much easier just to swap pedals, hydro for vacuum.

    -- A
     

Share This Page