Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Swapping to fixed yoke

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by big pappa b, Jul 27, 2005.

  1. big pappa b

    big pappa b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Posts:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falcon, Colorado
    So I need to swap in a fixed yoke in place of the slip that is currently in my 205 so I can give jesse a good measurement for my driveshaft :laugh: When I take off the 5 bolts that hold in the flange, does everything just pull out and I put the new fixed yoke in?. Hoping for a nice, quick, simple swap out :tongue1:
     
  2. big pappa b

    big pappa b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Posts:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falcon, Colorado
    Ok, it's not as simple as the 5 bolts. Looks like the next flange in has to come out as well. I have all but 1 of those bolts out. The one at the very top is located behind the vent tube....what the hell was GM thinking?? :mad:
    If I had a body lift...no problem. Looks like an access hole is in order..dammit
     
  3. MattK

    MattK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    i thought the 205's didn't have slips?
     
  4. big pappa b

    big pappa b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Posts:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falcon, Colorado
    Some did. My 80 was a factoy 6 cylinder/3 speed on the column with a slip 205. I kept the 205
     
  5. walla2k5

    walla2k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Posts:
    2,054
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Keep us posted on how it goes,I'll be doing the same thing next year....Mine is also an '80...
     

Share This Page