Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Sway-bar or No Sway-bar

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by magnum4x4, May 17, 2004.

  1. magnum4x4

    magnum4x4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Posts:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    I have a 73 K5 with a 6' lift on it. I do drive it on the street. I was wondering if I should eliminate the sway bar or will that hurt me in the long run. I am planning on swapping in a front 60 in the near future. Not sure if that will make any difference. /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  2. rooferbret

    rooferbret 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Posts:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento,CA
    I say remove it and see how you like it /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  3. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    [ QUOTE ]
    I say remove it and see how you like it /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I did just that and never put it back on. Now I have crossover so I couldn't even if i wanted to and I don't miss it a bit.
     
  4. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    take it off and drive it if you don't like it put it back on hey it don't cost anything to take it off or put it back on lol i took mine off and never had any regrets
     
  5. 88Silverado

    88Silverado 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Posts:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quartz Hill, So. Cal
    I unhooked mine and its been like that for months now.
    Just take the turns a little slower /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  6. nc87k5

    nc87k5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Posts:
    5,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    will it affect ride quality, say soften up a stock suspension?
     
  7. justhorsinaround

    justhorsinaround 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    6,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northerish Phoenix, Az
    I removed mine (ko tied it up out of the way /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif) and with the exception of drop offs on the freeway i.e. pavement changes I haven't noticed it's gone. I've even towed a small travel trailer with no qualms whatsoever.

    Good luck to y'all in the future.

    Allan
     
  8. 81jimmyslt

    81jimmyslt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Posts:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So Lake Tahoe (Rubicon), CA
    Sway bar.....what sway bar /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif just get ready to brace your frame /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif
     
  9. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Take it off.
     
  10. 8t7jimmy

    8t7jimmy 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Posts:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Lafayette, Indiana
    I took mine off when I put on a 4" lift. No regets, not much difference at all.
     
  11. 88Silverado

    88Silverado 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Posts:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quartz Hill, So. Cal
    [ QUOTE ]
    will it affect ride quality, say soften up a stock suspension?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    It did for me thats why I havent hooked it back up /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif
     
  12. smprider112

    smprider112 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaverton,Oregon
    do u need to do anything special to remove it?? like the ORD sway bar disconnect? or is that just so You can have it but unhooked then hook it back up when u return to pavement??
     
  13. JDBlazer454

    JDBlazer454 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Posts:
    951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, Wa
    Mine have never had the bolts in, its there just not bolted up at the axle. I rather like the ride with it disconnected. When I ran smaller tires, 35x12.5, I noticed a huge amount of sway but when I upgraded to bigger tires, 38.5x16, the sway went away /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  14. 88Silverado

    88Silverado 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Posts:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quartz Hill, So. Cal
    I installed the ORD disconnects. Went out wheeling one day and disconnected the bar, decided to see how it rode back home. Been disconnected ever since. I will keep the disconnects because if I decide to tow a small trailer, etc. I will hook it back up /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  15. marine_enlisted

    marine_enlisted 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Posts:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stafford, VA
    I drive mine on the street most of the time. I put in some ORD sway bar disconnects and some energy suspension greasable sway bar bushings and it made a big difference in ride quality. BTW I have a 4" Tuff Country E-Z Ride lift. Seemed to help with bump steer as well. I haven't driven with it disconnected yet. /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  16. speedyvision917

    speedyvision917 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Posts:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    hmmmm i think i might try that, never crossed my mind to do it

    o and steve is that really you??? lol ive seen that pic before
     
  17. offroadcowboy

    offroadcowboy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wittman,Arizona
    Not to hijack but... can you run a sway bar with disconnects and crossover steering on a 44? /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grind.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/weld.gif
     
  18. marine_enlisted

    marine_enlisted 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Posts:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stafford, VA
    I'm pretty sure you can't run any sort of sway bar at all with a crossover set up.
     

Share This Page