Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Sway bar ?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by wayne, Feb 20, 2001.

  1. wayne

    wayne 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Posts:
    6,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, Pa
    Anyone not running their swaybar on the street and did you notice a big difference on the way your rig acts without it. I know they make quick connects but was thinking of just eliminating mine if there are no serious side effects. Thanks.

    Happy Trails
    Wayne
     
  2. Emmettology 101

    Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Posts:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    I have been running without mine for about 2 years now. I noticed a little bit of a difference on-road. It is not that bad, it is just a little softer in the front and at higher speeds, it pushes a little harder in the corners. Nothing scary though...

    Off-road it helped out alot!!!



    Mike [​IMG]
    See <font color=green>EMMETT</font color=green> -&gt; <A target="_blank" HREF=http://emmett.coloradok5.com>http://emmett.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  3. muddin4fun

    muddin4fun 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Posts:
    5,644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N Texas
    keep them bad boys on if your running on the hwy if you like your truck! if you make a sudden move (dear, old ladies, etc) you could roll it. Get some disconnects for them. It's just not safe on the road without them.

    [​IMG] Keep your feet dry [​IMG]
     
  4. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    You probably will hardly notice that the sway bar is disconnected... until you need it most. In an emergency maneuver it could mean the difference between a quick, scary swerve and losing control of your ride. [​IMG] The disconnects from ORD are pretty cheap and provide the best of both worlds. You still get decent handling on the road and maximum flex off the road.

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com>http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com</A>
     
  5. ken

    ken 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, CA
    If you have stiff lift springs, you will never notice that he sway bar is missing. I have removed all three of them on all three of my rigs equiped with sway bars. One is a 6" lifted Suburban, the other a 10" Superlifted dually crewcab with a 9.5' Lance cabover camper, and the other is a National spring 12" lifted Suburban. I don't even notice...well OK, on the camper a little!!

    ken
     
  6. pcorssmit

    pcorssmit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Posts:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    The biggest thing I noticed with stock steering was that the steering was a tad sloppier, it seems the sway bar helps to locate the axle. I ran it this way for a couple years, I disconnected/reconnected it a few times, then I got lazy. No big deal really. I drove it quite a bit in town back then, I used to deliver for Dominos (w/ a 4" lift, winch, and 35s). With the crossover, I didn't have a choice. Steers great now.

    The older trucks never came with a sway bar. I think they started in '73, but I know my brother's '70 never had one.

    Pete

    '83 K5, 350 TBI (ex 6.2), 700R4, NP208, Dana 60/14 bolt, 4.56s, Detroits, 3" lift, 15-39.5x15 TSLs
    '97 Dodge 2500 4x4 CC LB Sport, Cummins 5 spd
     
  7. Confederate9

    Confederate9 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2000
    Posts:
    1,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greensboro NC
    i knwo this is a dumb question, but i wanna know.
    where is my sway bar? and how do i disconnect it?
    i wanna test my flex w/out it!

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.geocities.com/confederatek5/>http://www.geocities.com/confederatek5/</A>
    <font color=red>K5: Because size DOES matter</font color=red>
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Brady

    Brady 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Posts:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parachute,Co
    Swaybar? You don't need no stinking swaybar!! I tried ORD's disconnect and found them to be a pain in the a$$.So I took it off and haven't looked back.Brady

    '73Beautiful Disaster <A target="_blank" HREF=http://beautifuldisaster.coloradok5.com>http://beautifuldisaster.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  9. wayne

    wayne 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Posts:
    6,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, Pa
    Thanks for the info. There is alot of difference of opinions on this subject. I guess once the lift and everything else is done I will remove it and see how it feels. I didn't want to run quick connects because of what I heard about them being such a pain, but I will if I have to.

    Happy Trails
    Wayne
     
  10. wayne

    wayne 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Posts:
    6,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, Pa
    Confederate9 were you serious? If you were the swaybar is in front of your front axle. It is the bent looking bar that goes from one side to the other and is connected with two brackets to the frame. (One bracket on each frame rail.)

    Happy Trails
    Wayne
     
  11. Confederate9

    Confederate9 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2000
    Posts:
    1,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greensboro NC
    like i know where it is kinda, but i need to know where exactly to disconnect it.

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.geocities.com/confederatek5/>http://www.geocities.com/confederatek5/</A>
    <font color=red>K5: Because size DOES matter</font color=red>
    [​IMG]
     
  12. wayne

    wayne 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Posts:
    6,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, Pa
    Confederate9 it sounds like you need some help. I read your bio and was wondering if you did the lift yourself or had it done. As far as disconnecting your swaybar just follow it to the ends and unbolt it and then unbolt the frame brackets. I would reccomend you go to your local parts store and buy a repair book that covers your rig as that will help you with future work.

    Happy Trails
    Wayne
     
  13. TX Mudder

    TX Mudder 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2000
    Posts:
    2,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    I prefer the ride WITH the sway bar attached.
    I have the ORD disconnects so that I could retain the sway bar with a 6" lift.
    Keep in mind that just because you CAN disconnect the sway bar using the disconnect, you don't HAVE to. It is a pain in the butt to reconnect. Do you really need that last little bit of articulation every time you wheel? You've been doing just fine with it connected this whole time.
    Just a litltle rebuff to everyone who says how hard it is to reconnect.
    -- Mike
     

Share This Page