Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

sway bars on D60 conversion

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by lasvegas, Jul 12, 2001.

  1. lasvegas

    lasvegas 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Posts:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    One more question on this swap thing. Have the people who have done this swap used a sway bar after the converstion. If so, is there a difference between the sway bar from the K5 and a K30. If so, which one did you use and will the one from the K30 bolt on. Is there a problem with simply ditching the sway bar all together even on the street. Thanks for your answers so far as they are a great help.
     
  2. Boss

    Boss 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    I ditched the sway bar b/c I went with the crossover steering. It didn't make a difference really. A little body roll here and there on quick turns, but nothing serious. I'm use to it. But, yes, you can use your stock sway bar. Make sure you have the D60 stock spring plates. Your 10bolt or D44 spring plates will not work with your new axle. Bolt your sway bar into the D60 spring plates, just like how it went into your 10bolt or D44.
    Boss

    89' 1 TON of FUN K5
     
  3. 2Dogs

    2Dogs 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ca
    I am having the D60 and x over setup being built. My shop is claiming that they know how to make the swaybar work. (4" lift)
    I'll let you know when we get to that point.

    Dave

    If You Drink Don't Park, Accidents Cause People.
     
  4. Boss

    Boss 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    96C4and91K5,

    I'm assuming your shop will is making you a custom sway bar. I looked and I don't think there is any way around it for my stock sway bar to work with my crossover. You will need a custom bent sway bar to have it work. I believe OffRoad Unlimited makes these for $250 or so....$$$$$ But, like I said, the sway bar is not necessary.
    Boss

    89' 1 TON of FUN K5
     
  5. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Don't need anything...............just use the original one or the one off the K30.........same thing. Mine bolted right up..........cleaned it up, painted it.............put on the ORD swaybar disconnect and all fit perfectly.

    <font color=blue>'79 ONE TON TPI K5 - See it at---&gt;<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.blazzinor.alloffroad.com>http://www.blazzinor.alloffroad.com</A>
     
  6. realsquash

    realsquash 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Posts:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SE WI
    The K5 bar will bolt onto the D60 I think. When I swapped my 60 into my 77 3/4 ton, the swaybar just bolted right on up.

    Squash
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.trailrunners4x4.org/users/realsquash>http://www.trailrunners4x4.org/users/realsquash</A>
     
  7. 2Dogs

    2Dogs 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ca
    My shop (and one of our favorite suppliers) said that they might need to extend/lower the mounts. We will see. The shop also said that I will not need it but I do some long distance towing and it can't hurt, right? I will not run it if we can't get the disconnects to work also.
    Thanks Boss.

    Dave

    If You Drink Don't Park, Accidents Cause People.
     

Share This Page