Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

swaybar disconnects and an 8" lift

Discussion in 'OffRoad Design' started by chris672, Oct 8, 2002.

  1. chris672

    chris672 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Posts:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LODI, CA
    swaybar disconnects and an 8\" lift

    Will the disconnents work with an 8" lift on an 86 Blazer? If not, what are my options for reconnecting my swaybar? I dont want to take it off.
     
  2. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    Re: swaybar disconnects and an 8\" lift

    With an 8" lift, try taking it off and then go from there. With those stiff springs, you might not notice its gone. Its the cheapest first step.
     
  3. UseYourBlinker

    UseYourBlinker 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2000
    Posts:
    11,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    .
    Re: swaybar disconnects and an 8\" lift

    I agree with Sandman.. tyr with out it first. Most guys on the site don't even use a sway bar.
     
  4. chris672

    chris672 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Posts:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LODI, CA
    Re: swaybar disconnects and an 8\" lift

    It is actually my brothers blazer that I put the lift on. He took it to get an alignment and they called my parents and told them that the truck was VERY unsafe and now they wont let him drive it until he hooks up the swaybar.
     
  5. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    Re: swaybar disconnects and an 8\" lift

    ok, here is an idea...
    the sway bar can be connected with a 4 inch lift, maybe even a 6 inch lift...
    get the sway bar disconnects... install them. now add some 2 inch stock or so to drop the sway bar a bit off the frame. that makes you 8 inch lift only a 4 inch lift to your sway bar relation....
    like i siad, just an idea. with the disconects he can show his folks it is connected, but in the end we all know it wont be.
    grant
     
  6. NoSmog73

    NoSmog73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Posts:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lodi,ca
    Re: swaybar disconnects and an 8\" lift

    </font><blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr />
    He took it to get an alignment and they called my parents and told them that the truck was VERY unsafe

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Hey Chris what shop was that was it in lodi....mike
     
  7. chris672

    chris672 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Posts:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LODI, CA
    Re: swaybar disconnects and an 8\" lift

    It was Lodi Tire. They said that they couldnt do an alighnment because the tires were too big and they told us to take it to Bracketts. They said to drive it straight there because it was too unsafe to drive it home and then take it to the other shop. We only live about 2 miles from Lodi tire.

    Its all taken care of now but our parents are still pissed because they didnt want him to lift it more in the first place.
     
  8. Stephen

    Stephen 1/2 ton status Moderator Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Posts:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Carbondale Colorado
    Re: swaybar disconnects and an 8\" lift

    Use the disconnects and space the front of the bar down about 2". Should work out just fine.
     

Share This Page