Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Swaybar poll

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by denver75k5, Dec 27, 2001.

  1. denver75k5

    denver75k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Posts:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere In The Woods
    How many of you took you'r swaybar off? Mine seems to handle just fine without it. Although it's not really a daily driver, but it's road maners are acceptable.
    Just curious...

    TJ....

    " Wider IS Better!!!"coloradok5.com/gallery/albun51?&page=1
     
  2. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I took mine off my '75 to go out and play one week end. I planned to put it back on when we were done. Over a year later, driving it all the way down town EVERY day, I sold it and we threw the swaybar in the back before he drove off... Sniff, I miss that truck...

    Russ

    85 K30 CUCV, 350 TBI, TH400, 205, D60/C14, 4.56 Locked
    Some day: 4" lift, 44" tires, massive cutting, shorter wb and rear overhang.
     
  3. muddin4fun

    muddin4fun 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Posts:
    5,644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N Texas
    Mine handles like cockapoo without it. Man was I glad when I got the disconnects so I could put it back on!

    <font color=blue>What part of my brilliance do you not understand?</font color=blue>

    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.bluefox.tv/~lara>My Wonderful Site</a>
     
  4. Burt4x4

    Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California (Modesto area)
    I did the opposite! My 72 never had a sway bar! Well one day I was jammin down a backroad heading to one of my campin spots when my rig started to sway &amp; rock back&amp;forth. This was a straight road but the pavement was uneven and bumpy. I was going about 60mph had DIO's Holy Diver CRANKED and all I could do was hang onto the steering wheel and ride it out as a big rig SWOOSHED right by me. Thought it was over for sure!! That Monday I bought an aftermarket bar and now my rig only bounces up and down no more sway in the mix[​IMG]. I found a set of disconnects so when I get to the trail head I lock my hubs and disconnect the bar and I'm WHEELIN!!!!!!!!

    72K5[​IMG]Led Zeppelin[​IMG]Rock ON![​IMG]
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Burt4x4>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Burt4x4</a>
     
  5. zakk

    zakk 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Posts:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose CA
    no sway bar, 36" Bias-ply's, sableizer is shot and no x-over steering.

    all things considered it handles great[​IMG]

    -zakk

    '77 1-Ton K5

    [​IMG] CK5's MOAB 2002 OR BUST!! [​IMG]
     
  6. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,169
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    <blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr>

    no sway bar, 36" Bias-ply's, sableizer is shot and no x-over steering.

    all things considered it handles great

    <hr></blockquote>

    Ditto...[​IMG]

    Rene

    <font color=green>Dyslexics of the world...UNTIE!</font color=green>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/project_T2> tRusty pics...</a>
     
  7. greg83k5

    greg83k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Posts:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    space sity houston, texas
    no swaybar!

    when you pull it off, marvel at the sheer size and weight of the damn thing.....

    ( of course this was an easy decision for me as the K5 wasn't and will never be the daily driver.....)

    ** i'm so money **
     
  8. RedDwarf

    RedDwarf 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    816
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    I forgot I used to have a swaybar.
    You don't need it with a good quality lift and shocks.
     
  9. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,030
    Likes Received:
    364
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    I have driven with my sway bar disconnected for several months now. Its attached to the ORD disconnect bracket thingy, out of the way. I havent really missed it....but when I get the shackleflip + revolvers on there...I might wanna curb sway a little more than usual!

    J


    See the on-going build up of my '85 Jimmy! <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/jekbrown>http://community.webshots.com/user/jekbrown</a>
     
  10. wayne

    wayne 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Posts:
    6,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, Pa
    Mine is a daily driver and I don't run a swaybar. I have Superlift front springs that are fairly soft but without the bar it does fine.

    See <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Waynes-Toy>Project Mighty Mouse</a> here.
    <font color=blue>Wayne<font color=blue>
    <font color=blue>Happy Trails<font color=blue>
     
  11. BorregoK5

    BorregoK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Posts:
    2,457
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, Ca USA
    I disconnected my swaybar about 6 months ago. If anything, the ride was softer as a bump hit on one tire didn't transfer throught the sway bar and effect the other tire whcih usually jarred the whole front end. I noticed a little more sway around corners but my stiff 4" rancho lift kept it flat. When I shackle flipped the rear end, the truck started to sway quite a bit as described by many above. Mines a daily driver on top of the weekend fun so I'm opting for the swaybar disconnects and go back to a stiff front end ride on the streets.

    I started with nothing and I still have most of that left! - <a target="_blank" href=http://www.echobit.com:81/k5/> Pictures</a>
     
  12. Emmettology 101

    Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Posts:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    I took mine off, it seems fine without it!

    Mike

    <font color=green>"My K5 is purdyur than your sister!"</font color=green>

    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/emmettology101>www.geocities.com/emmettology101</a>
     
  13. big d

    big d 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Posts:
    1,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    illinois
    i dont know if this true or not. but i had a 78' chevy k20 3/4 ton 4x4 that i took the sway bar off of temporarily. when i went to put it back on nothing would line back up ! a bodyman said it was because i took it off and the axel shifted or moved ! dont know this to be true but its food for thought. somebody will probabley correct me or set it straight.


    darrenolander
    galva,il.
    1979chevycheyenneblazer
    350/350
    gettin'down on all fours, 4 a'little
    x4 play !
     
  14. juanblzer

    juanblzer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Posts:
    1,614
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    sway what...disconettttttts?
    hmmmmm swampers (homersimpson)
    hmmmmmm travel
    hmmmm saved money
    who needs it?
    36s,4inchezrideHDs,d60,14blt,

    chrome sucks
     
  15. kumma

    kumma 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Posts:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Novi, Michigan
    My daily driver is a 87 with 4" rough country and 35 inch bfg muds and no sway bar. took it off to install a disconnect kit and havent gotten around to putting it back on. i dont think i will it rides fine with out it.


    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.plymouthscreenprinting.com>www.plymouthscreenprinting.com</a>
     
  16. KRAZIE87K5

    KRAZIE87K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2001
    Posts:
    3,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Sway bar??? These things have sway bars??? Took mine out day 1, after I yanked the 10b installed the D60. Never missed it for a second.

    <font color=red>GOT MUD???</font color=red>
    My license plate reads:<font color=blue> 8 YR SUV</font color=blue>
    454/TH400/NP205 - 14BFF/D60/w/ 4.10s - 36" TSLs
     
  17. ChevyCaGal

    ChevyCaGal 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA USA
    Glad I have mine and I have sway bar disconnects if I wheel and choose to remove it for better flex.....

    &lt;&gt;&lt;<a target="_blank" href=http://www.chevycagal.homestead.com/steph.html>Steph's Webpage</a>&gt;&lt;&gt;
    Suck Fumes Ford Boy
    I keep trying to lose weight, but it always finds me!
     
  18. jaybird

    jaybird Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, Texas
    We don't need no stinkn' sway bar

    Took mine off and didn't miss it til I tried to flat tow my old CJ5...talk about creepy!

    Jay VT
    79 Jimmy 454, 700R4, NP208, D44, 14 bolt, 4.56:1, 38's
     

Share This Page