Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

switching drive train, will this work?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by purple76pearl, Jul 29, 2003.

  1. purple76pearl

    purple76pearl 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Posts:
    450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    missouri
    im am debating putting my drive train from the 76 under the 86, but i have a question
    when i put the motor and tranny and axles and all that, i want to use the 208 t-case under the 86 with my 350 turbo tranny, but my drive shaft in the font work?
    i jut spent over 200 bucks on it, its brand new 2" longer then stock but set up for my 203 case, what do i do? help pleae /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif


    <font color="blue"> what if i put the 86 body on the 76 frame, and just put a body lift on it will that body work on that old of a frame with a body lift to compensate for different floor pans? </font>
     
  2. mud390

    mud390 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, Arkansas
    Maybe you could get a conversion U-joint from Napa. One side for a 203 and the other side for a 208. Don't know if they even make one, but its worth a shot.

    Kris
     
  3. Don

    Don 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Posts:
    1,778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spokane Washington
    Sell off the other not used piece's, and get the shaft resized to fit. /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif
     
  4. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,166
    Likes Received:
    1,364
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Kinda sucks but you'll prolly have to shorten or lengthen the shaft. You may also have to change the T-case end. Is the current shaft a flange or yoke type? The 208 will almost definitely be a flange end...

    rene
     
  5. ramjet gmc

    ramjet gmc CK5 Staff Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Posts:
    3,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Milltown NJ 08850 NJ sucks
    what abought the th350 out put shaft the 208 was behind a 700r4 i think the 700r4 out put is 1.5" longer so the way i see it the 350 is 1.5" to short for the np208and adapor /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
     
  6. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    The TH350/NP 208 adapter makes up for that.
     
  7. purple76pearl

    purple76pearl 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Posts:
    450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    missouri
    the current shaft from the 203 im not sure the style, but have a pic of it, if that will help [​IMG]
    but im affriad that wont work on the 208 case, so im wondering what i have to do
    because the 208 is the sagana style, not sure on the spelling but its like a plate with 4 bolts holding it on
     
  8. CHEVY 4WD

    CHEVY 4WD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Posts:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    If the length is right try a local speed shop on the U-joint the guys at mine have lots of them
     

Share This Page