Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Swithes for electronics?!?!?!?

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by Crunk_K5_1984, Apr 1, 2003.

  1. Crunk_K5_1984

    Crunk_K5_1984 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kosciusko, Mississippi
    Anyone know the best way to go about installing switches on my CUCV? They will be power on/off switches for my CD Player/Amp, CB Radio/Amp, neon lights, and misc. other lights etc.
    I was kinda thinking about the military kind with the red/yellow flip cover, but I don't know where to find them. I also might want to put idiot lights to tell me if something's on. I know it's kinda comlicated but any info/input would be helpful at this point /forums/images/graemlins/ears.gif Cheers /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  2. mirage

    mirage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa, Az
  3. Tybee

    Tybee 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2001
    Posts:
    1,565
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centennial, CO
    [ QUOTE ]
    neon lights

    [/ QUOTE ] /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
     
  4. ChevyDrivnRdneck

    ChevyDrivnRdneck 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2002
    Posts:
    714
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Modesto, Ca
    [ QUOTE ]
    neon lights, and misc. other lights etc.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    WOW /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif You gonna lower it too??!?!?! /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  5. Crunk_K5_1984

    Crunk_K5_1984 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kosciusko, Mississippi
    I'm not making it into a low rider, street rod, or a jig-rig. I'm just a 'ole country redneck born and bred in the heart of the south (some people say that Mississippi is the armpit, but they've never been to Alabama) I just like how neon and blacklights look. /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif
     
  6. Tybee

    Tybee 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2001
    Posts:
    1,565
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centennial, CO
    [ QUOTE ]
    I'm just a 'ole country redneck

    [/ QUOTE ] [ QUOTE ]
    I just like how neon and blacklights look

    [/ QUOTE ]
    How times have changed! If you like it do whatever you want, just sounded funny to me! /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  7. Crunk_K5_1984

    Crunk_K5_1984 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kosciusko, Mississippi
    Funny.......Real Funny Tybee. CHEERS ALL!!
     
  8. chevyuser

    chevyuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ingolstadt ( Home of AUDI), Germany
    You already can buy this nice switches here in Germany, but they are not really cheap....
    They cost about 10 Euros here.
    Did you think about using some nice chomium switches?
    I just used the original blackout switches for high beam(just for greeting my friends:-)) )
    the other one is used for my orange watercooler light(made of some old motorcycle turn lights) and for my service lamp located under the hood an made of a tank light and a 5 meter automatic cable drum(from an old vacuum cleaner)
    So i think it is the best solution to build in your lights in a way that they dont disturb the general look of the Truck. therefore your switches or the chromium ones would be exactly the right way to integrate new light switches
     
  9. Crunk_K5_1984

    Crunk_K5_1984 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kosciusko, Mississippi
    Thanks, I'll keep that in mind

    By the way, does anyone know of a way to wire the switches so that I can turn them on w/o the engine runnig or half-turned, since I have a GP controller I don't want to burn up the plugs.
     

Share This Page