Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

SYE for np208?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by muddybuddy, Jul 1, 2005.

  1. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    hey guys, i know theres a SYE kit for the 241, but what about the 208? im about to do my 3/4 ton swap, and then get a HAD driveshaft, but i want to wait on that til i figure out what im goin to do bout my t-case, so i only have to measure once.

    any help is greatly appreciated
     
  2. steve_kibbe

    steve_kibbe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Posts:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Spartanburg, SC
    The only one I've seen was a custom job. or it might have come out of a dodge? Can't remember............. :o
     
  3. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    search...........
     
  4. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    or would it be better to swap in a 241 or another t-case that is fixed?
     
  5. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    Swapping in a 241 and then buying a SYE for it would be easier but if you want to keep your speedo you can only use a 241 out of a 89'. Since in the later years they went to a electric speedo and all 208's are mechanical.
    To do a SYE on a 208 you need need the back half of a fixed yoke 208 out of a dodge. But there will be soem things that need to be welded in so you need to find someone that welds aluminum.
    Search next time this has been covered about 145454545445485733232 times :)
     
  6. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    thanks, i appreciate it

    http://www.arizonadrivelines.com/SYE_Kits_$375.htm

    halfway down this page they say there is a SYE kit for 208/241. so i guess this will work with the np208? they make it sound like its the same kit.
     
  7. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    DONT buy that kit, its just a toke that pretty much gets bolted to the end of the output shaft. Really junk if you ask me.
     
  8. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,971
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    That is NOT a true SYE like the one for the NP241/231 is. "10kandykmanic", but that is probably not spelled right, is the one I remember w/ the good info on this.
     
  9. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    ya i didnt think so either. o well, i guess ill swap in a np241 and get the ord sye kit. that looks like the best thing to do.

    is there any advantage of my mechanical speedo vs. converting to electronic?

    ive got 8" lift on 88 k5 and planning on addin zero-rates, so the super shorty sye kit would help my shaft angle tremendously, saves 9" vs. the normal sye, which saves 5-6". every inch counts. the super shorty will only work with electric speedo, thats why i ask.

    i appreciate all the help from you guys.
    sorry if these are dumb questions
     
  10. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    I have asked about converting to electric speedo but never got a definent (sp?) answer. There are some sensors and all kinds or crap that you need.
     
  11. big4x4ride

    big4x4ride 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Posts:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, TX
    what do you have to weld to swap to a dodge 208 output?? we didnt weld anythign on mine, just swapped the crap around
     
  12. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    what exactly did u do to convert yours to fixed yoke 208?
     
  13. K10ANDYKHAMNIC

    K10ANDYKHAMNIC 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Posts:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Western CO
    im the 208 sye guy . i have a whole case fore sale if you are interested. ;)
     
  14. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    im very interested, im going to need a cv driveshaft, and if this will save me alot of hassle from buying a 241 and gettin the sye kit.
    what ya got?
     
  15. big4x4ride

    big4x4ride 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Posts:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, TX
    got a dodge 208, took the input out swapped in the chevy 27 spline input and i was done
     
  16. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,971
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    One day I'll get your name right, sorry (again).
     

Share This Page