Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

t-case fluid and U joints

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Sparky, Aug 20, 2000.

1. Sparky

Sparky 1/2 ton status

San Antonio(summer) Texas A and M (school year)
    First of all, this site rules. I'm new to it, and it is nice to know so many people share my passion for Blazers.

Ok, Here are my questions. I got a 78 k-5 with what I beleive is a NP 203. I know that is what the truck came with, but I am not sure that is what is in it now. I am susspicious because the SB 400 was swaped for a 350, and that makes me wonder what else was done to it. How can you identify the NP 203 compared to other cases? I need to know so I know what kind of fluid to add. I think the previous owner might have put ATF instead of 10w 30.

My second question involves a knocking noise. When I hit the gas hard, espesialy while turning, there is a loud knock. I know this can occur with bad engine mounts, but they seem to be good. My next guess is U joints. Anyone know anything else to check?

78 K-5

2. slodawg

slodawg 1/2 ton status