Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

T-Case fluid

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by **DONOTDELETE**, Aug 24, 2000.

Hey guys and girls! This is gonna seem like a idiotic question so I apologize. Just for reference, I have a stock 90 which means I should have an NP241 and a TH700-R4.

Does the fluid in my t-case come from the tranny right in front of it? Or in other words does filling the tranny from the tube under the hood mean I am also filling my t-case too.

Thanks as always.

1. Emmettology 101

Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

No, at least I dont think so. I have no experience with the 241, but all the other t-cases fill through plugs in their housings, i dont see why this one wouldn't. I think the 241 and 208 are a little similar, look on the back ot the t-case, beside the output shaft for the rear driveshaft, you should see two plugs. One will be towards the top and one will be towards the bottom. these will be you drain and fill plugs.

Anyone else?

Mike [​IMG]
    See <font color=green>EMMETT</font color=green> -&gt; http://emmett.coloradok5.com

2. Another related question.....

I replaced the shaft housing/t-case extension last week. It is leaking fluid at the bottom bolt b/t the t-case and the extension. There was no gasket on the old one. Should there be or did I just not crank down the bolts hard enough? I am a little worried about stripping something since everything seems to be aluminum. Is there something I can do instead of a gasket (i.e., grease, etc) to make sure it doesn't leak?

Plus I replaced the seal in the housing and that seems to also be still leaking. Is there another step besides putting it in? It is the type of seal with the spring in it. It seems to be leaking between the driveshaft and the rubber part of the seal.