Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

T-case Q?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by blazen91, Nov 3, 2000.

  1. blazen91

    blazen91 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2000
    Posts:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia, Ca 92345
    Will a 208 bolt up in my 91 that currentlly has a 241? And which one is better? My 241 is spitten' fluid and no one can tell me why, and I know where a used 208 is I can get cheap. Thanks for any input.

    blazen91
     
  2. blazen91

    blazen91 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2000
    Posts:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia, Ca 92345
    Some one has got to know something!PLEASE!!!

    blazen91
     
  3. KrebsATM02

    KrebsATM02 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2000
    Posts:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    College Station, Texas
    I am asumming you have a 700r4, in that case i believe it should, but one thing you might want to look at is how long the 241 is. your driveshafts may have to be lenghten or shortened depending

    Doug Krebs
     
  4. 4GUNZ4X4Z

    4GUNZ4X4Z 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Posts:
    3,459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mustang, Oklahoma
    Strength is about the same on the 208 and 241, they r both aluminum. As far as gearing goes the 241 has a lower lo gear I think its 2.72:1 and lo in a 208 is 2.61:1. You have the 4L60 tranny right, it should have the same bolt up pattern that a 700r4 has(99% sure) which was mated to a 208 or (optional) 241 in some of the later 80's.

    Hope this helps. You shouldn't have a problem bolting up a 208 to your tranny (98.9% sure), somebody correct me if I'm wrong.



    <font color=blue>Professional <font color=red>JEEP EATER</font color=red>, it's a population control thing.</font color=blue>
     
  5. blazen91

    blazen91 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2000
    Posts:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia, Ca 92345
    Thanks guys. I may not have to change it now though. I was talking to a buddy about the oil the T-case was spittin' and he said his did the same thing, so he ran the breather up under the hood almost to the hood. Where does your t-case breather run to?

    blazen91
     

Share This Page