Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Tabs for hydro cylinder?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 84_Chevy_K10, Aug 27, 2004.

  1. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    I would make my own, but mine have to be 1" thick and have a 1" hole in them. /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif

    Any source for tabs that I can weld on the axle/tie rod that have such holes? I was surprised that they didn't sell any where I bought the ram!

    Oh, btw guys, it cost me $86 for the ram, hoses, and fittings for my hydro assist. This is an Eaton brand ram, 2" bore, 8" stroke, double action obviously. /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif That's right, $86 out the door for it.

    I've got the WTO box that I bought from another member, I can't wait to hook it up! Anyone know where I can get some pre-fabbed tabs? If not I guess I'll break down and make them, but trying to get a 1" hole in a piece of 1" thick plate is going to be a bitch.
     
  2. gotmud77

    gotmud77 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Posts:
    689
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bellefonte
    Just an idea but i would try and find a local shop that has a water jet machine and have them cut them out. I have not seen any pre cut tabs with a 1" hole the biggest one i found was 3/4" and it was used for mounting a clevis.

    good luck
     
  3. backyardbuilt

    backyardbuilt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Olathe, Kansas
    I don't have pics yet but I have the same type of ram cost about the same for everything like you. I used 3/8ths plate bent the way I needed and drilled a 1" hole in it then used 1" id pipe with a 1/4 " wall to make spacers that I am gonna weld to the 3/8ths plate, did the same thing for the tie rod mount. 1" thick steel is more than my welder would do so thats why I am doing it like that. Total cost for the material was 15$
     
  4. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    1" thick is thicker than any welder I have can do in a single pass as well, I intend on beveling it all the way around and welding it in multiple passes. Even my 135 should be able to handle that no problem.

    The ram itself was $49.99 /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  5. camiswelding

    camiswelding 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Posts:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redding, CA
  6. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Low buck my ass. I have their box, but their ram is $150, the tabs to hook it up another $25, $20 for the heim ends for it, and $45 for two hoses, that's $250!!!!

    Mine was ram, $50, hoses $8 each, and fittings I cant remember.

    Thanks for the link though!!
     
  7. backyardbuilt

    backyardbuilt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Olathe, Kansas
    Thats what mine was it is a chief ram, I made mine bolt on with 3 of the cover bolts since I used 3/8ths. I didn't feel like welding it that much. PM cybrfire he can probably get it done for you at a reasonable cost!
     
  8. TWISTEDJACK

    TWISTEDJACK 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Posts:
    882
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    why does the tab need to be 1" thick?????? /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  9. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    It needs to be 1" thick or somewhere near that so the ram won't be able to move up and down, I'd prefer to not have it all sloppy on there.
     
  10. backyardbuilt

    backyardbuilt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Olathe, Kansas
    The end of the ram is a clevis end that looks like a U and has a 1" gap for the mount.
     
  11. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    just go to a steel suplier and get 2x2x1 steel. then take it to a machine shop adn have them drill a hole in it for you.

    for my clevis mounts i used 2x4x1 and had a 1" hole in it for $16 for 2 of them.
     
  12. unclematty

    unclematty 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    3,164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLC UT
    where did you get this stuff, I need to get all the same stuff /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  13. backyardbuilt

    backyardbuilt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Olathe, Kansas
  14. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    [ QUOTE ]
    just go to a steel suplier and get 2x2x1 steel. then take it to a machine shop adn have them drill a hole in it for you.

    for my clevis mounts i used 2x4x1 and had a 1" hole in it for $16 for 2 of them.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    That's exactly what I did, except I went to the scrap yard. They gave me a 12" by 18" piece of 1" thick plate for free! It weighs about 40 lbs, it's pretty damn heavy.

    I'm going to cut it with a torch and be done with it.
     
  15. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    [ QUOTE ]
    where did you get this stuff, I need to get all the same stuff /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Blain's Farm and Fleet /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  16. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    [ QUOTE ]
    That's exactly what I did, except I went to the scrap yard. They gave me a 12" by 18" piece of 1" thick plate for free! It weighs about 40 lbs, it's pretty damn heavy.

    I'm going to cut it with a torch and be done with it.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    good score, that would cost a fortune at the steel house.
     
  17. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    That's exactly what I did, except I went to the scrap yard. They gave me a 12" by 18" piece of 1" thick plate for free! It weighs about 40 lbs, it's pretty damn heavy.

    I'm going to cut it with a torch and be done with it.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    good score, that would cost a fortune at the steel house.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    The owner said I can have whatever I want any time I come in, as long as I bring in some scrap once in a while.
     
  18. unclematty

    unclematty 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    3,164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLC UT
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    where did you get this stuff, I need to get all the same stuff /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Blain's Farm and Fleet /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]
    got an Email addy? /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
     
  19. az-k5

    az-k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Posts:
    2,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    [​IMG]Rockstomper.com their shackle bracket will work. You don't have to have a welder that welds the thicker material of the two pieces, just one that will weld the thinner.
     
  20. darkshadow

    darkshadow 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    12,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    C-eh-N-eh-D-eh
    tim use a hole saw bit to cut the hole slow and lots of oil and it will cut it good. drill press works best, but hand drill will work. /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif

    i have mad simaler things and used a good hole saw to do it.
     

Share This Page