Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Tac mounting.....

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by dirtwarrior17, May 11, 2005.

  1. dirtwarrior17

    dirtwarrior17 Banned

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redding, CA
    Where do you guys put your tac? I have an 88 k5 and my dash is pretty much gone... i already have about ten holes in it from trying to find a sturdy spot to mount my tac but every time i think the screws are set it wobbles and falls off. I can't put it on the steering column because its too big and i want to be able to still have my eyes on the road when i check rpms.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. daleearnhardt01

    daleearnhardt01 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    A-Pillar/Dash Corner. I used the screw that holds the trim on to attach my 5" monster tach....
     
  3. dirtwarrior17

    dirtwarrior17 Banned

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redding, CA
    Got any pics?
     
  4. daleearnhardt01

    daleearnhardt01 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Sure, lemme find em.....

    [​IMG]
     
  5. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    I put my cheapy Tach in the corner using an existing screw , and ran my wires next to dash and down to fusebox . Bent the bracket that came with it and used an existing hole in bracket .
     
  6. johnnyclueless

    johnnyclueless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem with mine loosening up while on the trails. Just set the strews again and coat the screws in some good epoxy or glue. That should fix your problem.
     
  7. Rob 85K5

    Rob 85K5 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    No screws, just zip tied to the column

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. pvfjr

    pvfjr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Posts:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakridge, OR
    That's exactly where mine is! I used a hose clamp though, and mounted it farther down toward the dash. When I was all done I realised it rotated when I moved the shifter! :doah: Good thing it's not an automatic anymore...
     
  9. TDAWG1

    TDAWG1 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Posts:
    2,836
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Grand Junction, Crawlorado
    Question

    How does a Tach work.? I mean how do you hook it up? Is it just electrical wires or is it like a speedo cable? I have wanted one for a long time only I was afraid it would be difficult to set up. When you set it up how do you know it is accurate? Can you tell me. Maybe it is so simple I could have done it easy. I just don't know. Thank you :cool1: :grin: :o ;)
     
  10. steve_kibbe

    steve_kibbe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Posts:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Spartanburg, SC
    with a hei distrubutor, you just plug it in next to the hot lead, then hook up the light and ur ready to go.
     
  11. TDAWG1

    TDAWG1 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Posts:
    2,836
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Grand Junction, Crawlorado
    Light what light is this the shift light???????? AHHHHH I feel like an idiot........Ok Im over it.
     
  12. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    Light like in your dash, so you can see the gauge while driving at night.
     
  13. TDAWG1

    TDAWG1 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Posts:
    2,836
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Grand Junction, Crawlorado
    Well now that makes since, :o How much does an HEI distributor run? I am probably going to run a MSD set up. From the ignition all the way thru.
     
  14. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    If this is for your 87 Jimmy, it already has an HEI distributor :thumb:
     
  15. TDAWG1

    TDAWG1 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Posts:
    2,836
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Grand Junction, Crawlorado
    Man thanx 4 da knowledge, So what is a good Tach and how much?I knew of one gage company but the name excapes me at the moment.
     
  16. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    Autometer :thumb:
     
  17. MTMike

    MTMike 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    That's exactly where mine's mounted too...
     
  18. TDAWG1

    TDAWG1 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Posts:
    2,836
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Grand Junction, Crawlorado
    Is it easy to calibrate? :cool1: :grin: ;) :D
     
  19. pvfjr

    pvfjr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Posts:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakridge, OR
    calibrate....:haha:

    If you're talking about accuracy, don't worry about that, there's a switch to set how many cylinders it's for, that's it. The shift light isn't hard to do either.
     
  20. whiskey bent

    whiskey bent Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Posts:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    not sure if it'll werk on a auto truck, but just get a big hose clamp and clamp the mount to the steering column, mines still easy to see, with a stock gmc wheel anyway
     

Share This Page