Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

tach install

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Big GMC truck, Mar 30, 2006.

  1. Big GMC truck

    Big GMC truck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Posts:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    I'm going to be putting a tach on my dashpad. How should I fasten it to the dashpad? Should I just use self tapping screws? If so, how long should they be? Will I screw into any wires under the dashpad? Please alert me of any problems that I might run into. By the way, it is a 1984 GMC k1500.
     
  2. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    not much to it, ground, key on +12, lights on +12v (hint tap dashlights wire) and one wire to the coil.


    as for mounting, bolt it to something where its visible, but not obstructing view.
     
  3. Metrodps

    Metrodps Strange but nice guy Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    9,727
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    earth
    Or if it is a blazer they made a guage set with a tach where the fuel guage is. There is one on ebay right now.
     
  4. Big GMC truck

    Big GMC truck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Posts:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    I'm just worrying about screwing into the dashpad. Is it okay to screw selftapping screws into the dashpad? Will I accidently screw into any wiring under the pad?
     
  5. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    you should be fine with wires, nothing running directly under it iirc...

    you will have a 1/2" or so of foam to screw thru till you get to the metal...

    here was mine back in the day before the custom dash...
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Big GMC truck

    Big GMC truck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Posts:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    That looks great. So I'm going to have to drill the holes before putting the screws in. If this is the case, what screws should I use? Thanks for all of the help
     
  7. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    I just used some beefy #12 ss self tappers.. maybe 1 1/4 or 1 1/2" long..
     
  8. jeeptuff

    jeeptuff 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, WA
    Care to eloborate or post a pic or two of your custom dash?? If you would, could you make the pics viewable like your above post, I'm a poor white boy that can't afford a membership..
     
  9. wraenking

    wraenking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ


    right in his sig. he is the man when it comes to fiberglass!

    http://coloradok5.com/photos/showgallery.php/cat/500/ppuser/13480
     
  10. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    Don't wanna hijack the he!! outta this, so heres a link to the original thread...

    http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=138074&highlight=custom+dash

    and heres a couple pics...
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page