Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Tach install

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by k5 bray, Jan 1, 2007.

  1. k5 bray

    k5 bray Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cypress TX
    Which wire do I tap into for the dimmer function to work?
     
  2. makovai

    makovai 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Posts:
    854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oregon city
    everytime i play with gage lights they are yellow wires. The extra tach i have in my garage also has a yellow wire for the light, which if you wire to all your other gage lights should be able to be dimmed with your dimmer switch.

    I'm not sure if thats what your asking though.
     
  3. k5 bray

    k5 bray Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cypress TX
    Yeah thats what i wanted to know. Thanks
     
  4. vortec

    vortec 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    fort worth, texas
    highjack

    since the question is already answered, how about a minor highjack...i have a sunpro tach that worked great with my old '82 350 and hei, but now, i have the old hei on my remanned 350, and the tach no longer works. i unhooked ONE related wire when i pulled the dizzy. it was the green tach-to-dizzy wire. after i hooked it back up, it worked, briefly, but now, will not. all my connections are exactly how i originally made them, and have proper voltage supplied (i put my meter on it). do the TACH terminals on these hei coils short out easily or something? maybe a fuse inside the tach? just thought i'd ask before i go digging. thanks in advance.
     
  5. BlaKK54Speed

    BlaKK54Speed 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Posts:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    we just installed a sunpro on my buddies 350 and it wont work either, weird. its wired right just goes crazy all the time
     
  6. diesel4me

    diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    17,584
    Likes Received:
    945
    Location:
    Massachussetts
    dash lights...

    If your asking where to hook the wire for the light in the tach,you can hook it to the spot provided for that purpose in the fuse box,it's marked with the letters "LPS",and has a spade terminal you can slide a female solderless connector onto..this is for added on gauges,and it also works with the dimmer in the light switch,so it'll dim or brighten like all the other dash lights..:crazy:
     
  7. BlaKK54Speed

    BlaKK54Speed 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Posts:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    thats amazing info. im gonna have to remember that one
     
  8. k5 bray

    k5 bray Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cypress TX
    Thats exactly what i needed to know. Thanks
     

Share This Page