Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

tach is in...some ?!!!!!

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by tecton, Jun 3, 2003.

  1. tecton

    tecton 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WV
    500 idle
    i never go past 2.5k on the road...i have to ram the pedal to get it even close to 3k

    rollin down the road ill be doin mabye 1.7k

    is this good, bad,?
     
  2. 77Jimmy

    77Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    661
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Here's my info for comparison purposes...not sure it's much help though given we're running different setups, tires (31s), etc. 500 does seem low, but don't take my word for it...I know just enough to be dangerous! /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    Idle...650ish
    At 65mph...2700ish
     
  3. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Posts:
    9,090
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
    Did you get a tach for a V-10 or V-12?
    /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif

    I assume your tach signal comes from the tach terminal on the distributor. Where do you get your power and ground? What kind of tach is it? If it is a factory tach, it probably has bad resistors.
     
  4. swampblazer

    swampblazer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Posts:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    mass, u.s.
    that seems kind of strange, what about when you first crank it, where is it at, mine is around 1000 than goes down to 650ish, what about in gear? etc... what about gears, tire size
    luke
     
  5. bajaviking

    bajaviking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Posts:
    752
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Baja
    In idle I run about 600 rpm, going down the freeway with 65 mph in OD I run about 1900 rpm.
     
  6. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    mine is a supersun tach 2 and mine is around 5-600 at idle and usually around 2000 or a little below criusin around 40-50 id say.
     
  7. tecton

    tecton 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WV
    33 tires
    sun somethnig tach...lil thing for 30$
    342 gears

    when i first start it and it wont kick down it sits about 1k....prob need to turn my idle up some tho cause its startin to want to die
     
  8. BlazinRojo

    BlazinRojo 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Posts:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Luis Obisbo, CA
    i run 600 idle. With all my weight on the pedal, it shifts from 1st to 2nd at 5000 at 40 mph. 2nd to 3rd happens at 4800 and 70 mph
     
  9. tecton

    tecton 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WV
    i cant get up that high...
    seems most of my power is in the 2-3k range

    this is why im thinkin gearing to 4.10
     
  10. daleearnhardt01

    daleearnhardt01 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Idle seems a bit low, mine idles at 600ish give or take. Those RPMs seem about right, I have the same setup as you drivetrain wise. Im sure you can get it past 2500 /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif I know mine goes around 4500 when I lay in to her /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  11. tecton

    tecton 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WV
    i lost power with glasspacks and wider tires

    thinking of switching to flow50's to get some power back
    mabye a cold air intake...if those two dont help alot ill wind up re-gearing
     
  12. wrathORC

    wrathORC 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    908
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hancock, MI
    With 32.4" tall tires, in third gear (direct drive), and with 3.42 gears you should be turning 2,000rpm and going 55mph.
     
  13. tecton

    tecton 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WV
    you forget that k5's are like open trashbags when it comes to awerodnamics....when its not windy...ill be doin 75 and not be able to hear the motor..., somedays i struggle to do 65
     
  14. tecton

    tecton 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WV
    you forget that k5's are like open trashbags when it comes to areodynamics....when its not windy...ill be doin 75 and not be able to hear the motor..., somedays i struggle to do 65
     
  15. wrathORC

    wrathORC 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    908
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hancock, MI
    I know, my truck has barn door aerodynamics as well. I have 2.73 gears to make it that much more enjoyable with the 700R4. With my mud tires on at 35mph the stereo and wind noise disappear. I have no floor covering, no headliner, just a bench seat so it gets mighty noisey in there.

    However, math doesn't lie. When the torque converter locks up you'll be spinning around 2000rpm at that speed.
     

Share This Page