Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

tach light

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by CHEVY 4WD, Aug 23, 2002.

  1. CHEVY 4WD

    CHEVY 4WD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Posts:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    When you hook up a tach and you got it pluged up except for the light(so you can see it at night) where do you put that wire in at btw It should be able to be turned off right?
     
  2. TorkDSR

    TorkDSR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bucks co pa
    i dont understand your question. thers should be a red(ignition/accesory) back (ground) Blue (light, i think) Green (tach, i think) the red wire should only get juice when the truck is on. the blue, only when your headlights are on.
    did that answer anything /forums/images/icons/confused.gif
     
  3. CHEVY 4WD

    CHEVY 4WD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Posts:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    my question is where do i put the wire in for when the lights are on
     
  4. CHEVY 4WD

    CHEVY 4WD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Posts:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    nevermind
     
  5. FL84K5

    FL84K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Posts:
    936
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    Use a test light to find a spot in your fuse box that only has power when your headlights are on. Hook into that, so when your dash lights come on, your tach light comes on.
     
  6. Blazer_Boy

    Blazer_Boy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sioux City, IA, USA
    My '83 Shortbox has a special plug just for that on the fuse panel. So you don't have to jab a wire in along with a fuse.
     
  7. trailblazer87

    trailblazer87 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Posts:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Madera, CA
    I tapped a front marker light.
     
  8. A&P

    A&P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Posts:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Under the dash, at the back of your headlight switch, there is something like 5 wired coming out of it. Just use the volt meter to find out which one is hot only when the instrument lights are on. Then get on of those cool little clampable splice thingy's (technical term) and splice the positive light wire into it. It will then turn on when you turn your lights on, and will also dim with your instrument lights. That's how I did mine, and havent had any problems. I also wired my mechanical gauge cluster this way. The additional load did not create any problems with early fuse burnout.
    Just my $.02 /forums/images/icons/wink.gif
     

Share This Page