Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Tach Placement UPDATE: I Got the Tach but have 1 Question

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by daleearnhardt01, Mar 19, 2003.

  1. daleearnhardt01

    daleearnhardt01 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    I want to put a tach in the truck. I was thinking of mounting it on the A pillar. What are yalls suggestions for mounting it there (how, why I shouldnt mount it there). Heres what I want to put there Tach
     
  2. 4x4dreamer

    4x4dreamer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Posts:
    874
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Re: Tach Placement

    dead center on the steering column..between speedo and gas gauge. I've seen a lot of 'em there.
     
  3. daleearnhardt01

    daleearnhardt01 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Re: Tach Placement

    Wont it rotate down with the shifter? My friend has it like that in his 87. I havent really looked to see exactly where on the column its mounted
     
  4. 4x4dreamer

    4x4dreamer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Posts:
    874
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Re: Tach Placement

    I think they mount it forward of the shifter. I plan on moving the gas gauge to a small gauge, then putting a tach (digital of course) where the gas gauge was.
     
  5. marine_enlisted

    marine_enlisted 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Posts:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stafford, VA
    Re: Tach Placement

    I had my monster tach mounted on the piller with the bottom of the tach just touching the top of the dashpad. Then I used a piece of shock boot to cover up the mounting bracket. The wires all tucked between the dashpad and the inside of the cab. Lokked great and I never had any problems with it coming loose or shaking . /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif
     
  6. Hustler

    Hustler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Peters, MO
    Re: Tach Placement

    I have a monster tach on my piller now and I haven't had a problem with it.
     
  7. daleearnhardt01

    daleearnhardt01 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Re: Tach Placement

    Cool im glad it seems to work out there but do yall just attach to the plastic or go into the metal?
     
  8. Rob 85K5

    Rob 85K5 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    Re: Tach Placement

    Centered on the column.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Hustler

    Hustler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Peters, MO
    Re: Tach Placement

    I used the screw that holds the plastic piece up there and I would guess that it goes into the metal. I did screw in another screw into the plastic to it would be steady. So far, it has held up good. I haven't taken it off road other then going on old muddy logging roads.
     
  10. daleearnhardt01

    daleearnhardt01 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Re: Tach Placement

    Now I just gotta see where to get the best price on the tach
     
  11. daleearnhardt01

    daleearnhardt01 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Re: Tach Placement

    Does anybody know the difference between the Autometer Sport Comp and Autogage tachs? For the one I want I dont see a difference between the two except 50 bucks. The prices seem to be the same at Jegs and Summitt. /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif
     
  12. rick88blaze

    rick88blaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    2,342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Knob Noster, Mo.
    Re: Tach Placement

    i mounted mine on the steering column. it's placed so that when i'm in drive it's just below the speedometer.
     
  13. Hustler

    Hustler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Peters, MO
    Re: Tach Placement

    The difference between the Autometer Sport Comp and Autogage tachs is very little. Autometer builds both, but the Autometer model is for racing, major off road use. the Autogage is made with cheaper parts. I have used the Autogage for dirt track racing, drag racing and that is the model I have in my Jimmy now. For the money, I would say get the Autogage, unless you have the money to get the Autometer Sport Comp.
     
  14. daleearnhardt01

    daleearnhardt01 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Re: Tach Placement

    Alright now I need to see what yalls opinion is on a shiftlight. Can the light be moved to the right side of the tach? Heres a poll.
     
  15. Hustler

    Hustler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2001
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Peters, MO
    Re: Tach Placement

    I say yes. Yes you can move it. Mine is on the right side at the bottom of the tach.
     
  16. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Re: Tach Placement

    Top of dash just to the right of the gauge panel, angled to face driver.
     
  17. daleearnhardt01

    daleearnhardt01 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Re: Tach Placement

    Can the shfit light totally come off? I mean for 10 bucks more Ill get the one with the light and If I dont like it ill take it off.
     
  18. Highlander

    Highlander 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Posts:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lakewood Colo
    Re: Tach Placement

    My tach for time being is next to the A pillar. And for me I don't see the need for a shift light unless you plan on mud/sand drags. I can see the red line on my tach just fine. Now when I put my OEM tach in it won't be as easy to see, At lest right noe I say that after I get it in I mite change my mind.



    Eric
     
  19. DUKE

    DUKE 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Posts:
    879
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Davenport Iowa
    Re: Tach Placement

    you can see my tach in the pic, its fixed to the a piller but just on the dash. The dash wouldnt hold the screws. I like it there personally
    [​IMG]
     
  20. cybrfire

    cybrfire 1 ton status Vendor GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Posts:
    15,139
    Likes Received:
    565
    Location:
    Iowa
    Re: Tach Placement

    in my blazer the tach is just to the right of the gauge panel on top of the dash pad and I routed the wires down through the dash pad and put a nice grommet around the wires in the hole. Looks nice. In my daily driver it is mounted to the dash just to the drivers side of the gas tank selector switch. Out of the way but easy to see.
     

Share This Page