Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Tachometer Installation Questions

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by rem7600, Apr 17, 2000.

  1. rem7600

    rem7600 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2000
    Posts:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Coeur d\'Alene, Idaho
    I have been thinking hard about putting a tach in
    my recently acquired '89 Jimmy. I got very used to it on
    my last truck and now miss it... JC Whitney has some that
    are extremely reasonable in price but what nightmares will
    I face trying to install it? I'm strong on logic, weak on
    electrical knowledge and as I understand it this is an
    electronic hookup from the word GO. Any insight?

    Thanx for tips you might be willing to share.

    REM7600
     
  2. walrus101

    walrus101 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Posts:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    texas
    i personally never installed one, but i have seen tach's that are supposed to be simple. it hooked up to a sparkplug or the wire.put it thru the firewall mount it and your done. i am going to be putting one in my 88 next weekend. let me know how it goes; and any pointers you may have.
    good luck and have fun
     
  3. 88Jimmy

    88Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las vegas, NV
    On your 89 there is a white wire coming off your coil
    that is for a tach.
    you will have a harder time looking for the hot to the tach and if your want your light in your tach to be hooked up to your dash lights.

    350 Vortec TPI D60 14Bolt 4"lift 35 BFG A/T
     
  4. rem7600

    rem7600 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2000
    Posts:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Coeur d\'Alene, Idaho
    As you can imagine, I never want to do things the easy
    way! :-) I WOULD want to hook up to the lighting
    system. I will have no problem finding "hot" and a way to
    ground but suspect that tapping into the lighting system
    is going to be easier said than done. I'll have a look
    for that white wire off the coil... Anyone have detail on
    tapping into the lighting? I have the Haynes manual with
    electrical diagrams but I must say again... I'm
    electrically challenged! :-) REM7600
     
  5. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Relax, it is a pretty basic project. You should have four wires to hook up.......
    1. Ground......simple enough, ground it to the body or frame.
    2. Tach - on your HEI there is a hookup that says TACH on it, that is where you run this wire to. It is on the little "ear" that sticks out from the body of the cap, right next to the BAT terminal.
    3. Power - use a test light, find a fuse/terminal that comes on with the key, hook it up to this.
    4. Lights - find the dash light circuit on your fuse block with the test light, then hook the wire up to that.

    There are pretty decent electrical plugs available at auto parts stores to make these piggyback connections clean and long lasting.

    Good luck, let us know if you need any more help.

    '79 - 406 w/IROC TPI - K5#5 - a <font color=orange>sickness[​IMG] <font color=blue>you never get enough of!! [​IMG]
     
  6. 79Cheyenne

    79Cheyenne 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2000
    Posts:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta,GA
    Tie into the wiper on your headlight switch. The "wiper" is the middle tab which allows you to dim your dash lights, this way you can dim the tach too.

    good luck!

    <font color=orange>1979 BLAZER Cheyenne[​IMG]
     
  7. **b**

    **b** 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KIllington, VT.
    wHERE DO YOU PLAN ON MOUNTING THE BAD BOY???
    IN DASH ? / BE SCARD...

    I OPTED WITH A MOUNT ON THE CONSOLE USING A RADAITOR CLAMP.
    WHEN IN PARK THE TACH IS @ ABOUT 8 O'CLOCK WHEN IN DRIVE ABOUT 11 O'CLOCK IN OD 10 O'CLOCK...

    JUST AN IDEA 4 YOU..
    GOOD LUCK
     
  8. **b**

    **b** 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KIllington, VT.
    MY BAD DID I SAY CONSOLE / I MENT COLOUM
    THE STEARING COLIUM [​IMG]
     
  9. **b**

    **b** 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KIllington, VT.
    HOWEVER YOU SPELL IT !!! [​IMG]
     
  10. rem7600

    rem7600 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2000
    Posts:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Coeur d\'Alene, Idaho
    Was "Tach" a factory option on the 89's? I suspect
    the answer is yes and if so, where did they locate
    it? In the dash panel? I think I'm going to go
    ahead with the aftermarket install from JC Whitney.
    Sounds relatively straightforward. I appreciate the
    input from everyone. It will likely be mounted on
    the column. Again, thanx for all of the good
    information.
     
  11. lew

    lew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2000
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    reno,nv
    Hello,
    Put one in my 86, ridiculously easy when you get it done.

    I used a complete set of autometer white face gauges and replaced all of the dash gauges. mounted the tach where the monster factory gas gauge goes, and put a two inch auto meter gas gauge in the spare hole.
    Like was said above, ran tach line to the HEI cap marked Tach. Then taped the light wire to one of the dash background light terminals so that the dimmer function still works. That was basically it.
    I am not sure about the quality of some of the JC whitney stuff but really like the Auto meters. They seem to handle the bumps well, plus I only live 25 miles From the Summitt Racing warehouse in Reno and they have some pretty good prices.

    Have fun.
     
  12. Bigd

    Bigd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2000
    Posts:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Co,Colorado Springs
    On my 76 there is a tab on the fuse block that reads park/lts this is what i connected to with a tab connector.Same for the power wire look for a tab labeled IGN.
     
  13. Hey guys. Anyone ever try to yank out the vent on the lower left-hand side of the dash, under the small factory gauges to put a tach there? I'm thinking about it and wanted to see if anyone had had major problems.
     
  14. Rob 85K5

    Rob 85K5 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    Just a look at where I put my tach. It may look like it gets in the way but not really from my vantage point.

    Rob 85K5

    <font color=orange>Bleedin' Chevy Orange</font color=orange>
     

Share This Page