Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Tachometer ?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Chrisblazzer89, Dec 31, 2006.

  1. Chrisblazzer89

    Chrisblazzer89 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts 02301
    OK I have an 88 blazer so you know I don't have a RPM gauge :mad: only a huge FUEL gage but I want a RPM gauge. What do you guys have, how hard was it to install, where did u place it, and whats the RPM range for an 88 blazer with a 5.7L?

    PS: Pics of your setup so I can get some ideas would be cool.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2006
  2. Chrisblazzer89

    Chrisblazzer89 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts 02301
  3. mechted

    mechted 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    766
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Granbury, TX
    do a search as this topic is covered every month or so, plenty of pic already up
     
  4. badmix

    badmix 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,205
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Here is mine. works great, jus hose clamped to steering column and yes when I put it in gear the gauge moves with it. lol. but ive gotten use to it. Very easy to see and I can see all my other gauges as well.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. BlaKK54Speed

    BlaKK54Speed 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Posts:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    i have a manual tranny so my steering column does not move, i put it on there but shifted it to the right just a tad so it covers mostly the bottom of the fuel guage and i can see all of my speedo.
     
  6. Chrisblazzer89

    Chrisblazzer89 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts 02301
    SO how hard was it to put in/install ?
     
  7. BlaKK54Speed

    BlaKK54Speed 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Posts:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    its easy, just run the green wire to the neg wire on your distributor, run the white one to your guage lights so it dimms with them and run the red one to any power wire that comes on when the key is on. piece of cake
     
  8. BlaKK54Speed

    BlaKK54Speed 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Posts:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    the negative wire on your distributor should be green, but its on the left side of the pair coming off of your dist. cap. there should only be 2 or three wires, its the left most one. mine had 2 wires and a blank spot, mine was the blank spot since my blazer had no factory tach the terminal was left unused
     
  9. badmix

    badmix 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,205
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Yeah my '84 had the blank spot as well. Came in handy for sure. no splicing required.
     
  10. BlaKK54Speed

    BlaKK54Speed 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Posts:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    i did it in about 20 minutes. piece of cake
     
  11. Chrisblazzer89

    Chrisblazzer89 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts 02301
  12. BlaKK54Speed

    BlaKK54Speed 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Posts:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    autozone, new sunpro black gauge is $55
     
  13. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    I got an autometer, I actually mounted to the top of my cb, which is mounted on my tranny hump. I can see it out of the corner of my eye, and if it passes 12 o'clock (viewed from the corner of my eye) its time to back off, or I'll be hittin rev limiter soon lol.
     
  14. BlaKK54Speed

    BlaKK54Speed 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Posts:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    does anybody know what the max rpm is on a 350? stock
     
  15. Chrisblazzer89

    Chrisblazzer89 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts 02301
    That the same ? i was gonna ask lol
     
  16. BlaKK54Speed

    BlaKK54Speed 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Posts:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    bump.....
     

Share This Page