Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

tailpan brace rusted out...

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by wedgeindy, Jul 30, 2002.

1. wedgeindy

wedgeindy Registered Member

Did a search on back a year, lots of good info on this. The short version is that my tailgate didn't feel like closing and now I know why. I started taking it apart last night and it's quite a mess. Tailpan is totaly rusted out, as the floor and the right side taligate post. Ick.

Newbie here to body work, lost of stupid questions to follow...

Note: Please feel free to push me off to a webiste if there is decent article out there on how to do this kind of stuff...

a) how does one remove the old tailpan. Bolts are rusted bad and I'm thiking I'm going to break the tabs off that the thing is bolted to. It's no longer welded to the floor as the floor is rotten away.

b) how does one cut the old floor out to put a new one in?

c) does one have to remove the gas tank to be doing this work?

d) am I freakin' crazy for thinking about doing this myself?

Tony
    wedgeindy@hotmail.com

2. wedgeindy

Update: Just called a GM dealership in Ottawa Canada (Turpin) and they can't find [censored]. I read in the archives about buying a whole floor, tailpan, x-brace assembly, and they can't find that. Can't find the floor by itself, can't find tailpan by itself. Great....Anyone happen to have part #'s?

Tony

3. Calclips

Calclips 1/2 ton status

Swartz Creek, Michigan/Flint while in school
    TTT somebody should know something about this.

4. nofeartruckin00

nofeartruckin00 1/2 ton status

Floorpan Hopefully this is of some help, and i think it has a part number for the floor

5. COLLISION

COLLISION 1/2 ton status

Tailpan from gm is part of the floor, gm part#15571692