Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Taking out a body lift

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by SUPER'BURB, Nov 28, 2005.

  1. SUPER'BURB

    SUPER'BURB 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Posts:
    929
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mountain House, Ca.
    When I aquired my rig it had a 2" body lift in it.
    If I get twisted up my fan hits the shroud :doah: .

    Sooo......

    Whats involved in removing it.
    Would the tranny and t-case have been shimmed up/down?
    What would need to be done with the linkages and drive shafts?

    I wish this was not on my rig :mad: :mad:.
     
  2. retroblazer

    retroblazer 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Posts:
    280
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    Gustine
    Why not put an electric fan in and leave the lift kit alone?
     
  3. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,526
    Likes Received:
    526
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    just trim the shroud. when you need to remove drive line stuff later you will wish you had it in. much easyer.
     
  4. SUPER'BURB

    SUPER'BURB 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Posts:
    929
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mountain House, Ca.
    I was planning on doing that any way.

    My concern is with the extra twist. Will it cause any issues?

    Thanks for the help guys.
     
  5. TrcksR4ME

    TrcksR4ME 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,482
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA 98103
    Just take it out, body lifts more than 1"...well suck :D

    It will not affect your drivelines, t-case, tranny....remember body lift is just as it sounds, it lifts the body off the frame. Where you run into issues is with tranny linkage if you have an auto-you just need to adjust it after removing the BL.
     

Share This Page