Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Taking SFA A Bit Further..C1500

Discussion in '1992-Present Chevy & GMC models' started by DusterRT, Aug 18, 2002.

1. DusterRT

DusterRT Registered Member

Hi everyone, newbie here..I've seen quite a few posts related to converting IFS to solid axles, which is encouraging! I've got a '91 C1500 which is an extremely sharp truck, runs great (despite having 145K on the 305/5 speed), and is paid for..but I want 4wd. Thought about getting IFS stuff to convert, but I want to be different, plus I don't like the complexity of it. It looks like I'm not the only one like this, as I'm hearing there's going to be a kit to do just what I want coming next year from offroad unlimited. But I like doing stuff myself, I like fabricating things, and I don't like the pricetag (I'm guessing $800+ for what amounts to spring hangars and bracketry). Now, as far as components I was thinking a dodge dana 44 (to keep 5 lug pattern, I've got dual pattern wheels which would work nicely if I run a 2wd 12 bolt) with pass side pumpkin (is relocating spring perches ok? I would like to think if it works for passenger car axles it should be ok for trucks), and then running a divorced transfer case (NP 208? Would a 205 be excessive overkill?) to get a little more front driveshaft length and retain my existing transmission. It's a longbed, so the rear shaft length should be ok, correct? I wouldn't be doing hardcore 4 wheeling, nor will I be starting the actual converting until summer break. But I can find and collect parts until then! These figures of $3K to convert an existing 4wd truck scare me; that's more than I paid for the truck! Is it insane to think I can do it for closer to $1500?? Sorry about being so long winded..

2. willyswanter

willyswanter 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner