Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Tank sending units

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Muddytazz, Jan 10, 2005.

  1. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    Does anyone know if a specific sized gas tank sending unit has to match the gauge or vice versus? What I'm getting at is if you have a 31 gallon tank and sending unit and a gas gauge from a rig with a 40 gallon tank, will it read funny or should it read correct?
     
  2. ntaj*ep

    ntaj*ep 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Posts:
    3,248
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Evergreen state
    As long as the pick up dosen't interfear with the bottom of the tank and your senders have the same resistance your fine....
     
  3. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,976
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    AFAIK, all GM fuel gauges/senders operate the same way, so as was stated, as long as the depth of the tank is the same, your readings will be the same.
     
  4. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    Reason I ask, is cause 2 yrs ago when I did the body swap on my dads burb. His was a 77 with a stock 31 gallon tank and sender. I swapped on a 81 body from a 2wd that had a stock 40 tank and sender. So needless to see, I just left the stock 81 gauges in place. Now, I'm driving it around right now cause my burb is in the tranny shop getting fixed and if I fill up the tank with gas, the needle will move from FULL to 1/4 almost as fast as the speedo needle, then from 1/4 to EMPTY will take forever to move. Any ideas?
     
  5. sickquad

    sickquad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ma
    Sounds like your sending unit has an issue. I am running a big tank with the sending unit from a small tank so when it shows empty I still have a few gallons left. I just use mileage to track how much fuel I have. It's pretty accurate from tank to tank.

    -Chris
     
  6. 78blazaer

    78blazaer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Posts:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    My sending unit on my 78 Blazer is acting up.. Do you guys know where I can purchase a replacement sending unit.

    Thanks in advace,
    Tav
     
  7. akbound

    akbound 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio
  8. MarcS

    MarcS 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Posts:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
  9. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,976
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    For the price, I'd try to "fix" yours. The info has been posted here before, but essentially, there is only one piece that you can disassemble/celan once its pulled from the tank.

    Didn't make mine *perfect* but it reads much closer to full/empty now.
     
  10. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    I know the sender is working perfect as it was working just fine on the 77 gauge, its just the 81 (40gal)gauge that is reading funny, thats why the ? about if gauges and sender size have anything to do with each other.
     
  11. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,976
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    That was for the guy that was having problems and asking where to buy replacements. Half the time, it seems the sender isn't the problem anyway.

    I can confirm a bouncing needle is a gauge issue though.

    Should be able to read resistance if you pull the tank sending unit wire under the truck, the one in mine had a connector near the tank I could disconnect. The range is 0-60 or 0-80, can't recall which off the top of my head. In any case, half tank will be 30 or 40. I believe no resistance=full, which can be tested by grounding the tank sending unit wire.

    Heck, so I didn't waste time dropping my tank, I hooked up a spare sender (and then a gauge) external of the truck, so I didn't have to drop the tank or disassemble the cluster.
     
  12. 78blazaer

    78blazaer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Posts:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info.
     

Share This Page