Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Target Master Motor---WTF???

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Blue Meanie, May 23, 2002.

1. Blue Meanie

Blue Meanie Registered Member

i was in search of a one piece rubber gasket for my 350 yesterday. i called fel-pro and they told me that i have a Target Master motor and they stopped making oil pan gaskets for it a while ago. i have never heard of this. i called chevy and they said they could order the gasket, but i want to know more about this motor. is this thing a peice of crap?? are all parts going to be this hard to find??? please help, i am frightened!!! oh, the motor has about 20,000-30,000 miles on it and runs great, for now...

2. Grim-Reaper

Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

Uhhhhh Maybe I got my information screwed up but I thought the Target motors were just FACTORY rebuilt motors. Nothing different about the blocks. Maybe I'm wrong about that.

3. Mr.Chevy4x4

Mr.Chevy4x4 1/2 ton status

Grim you are right. The target master motors are just factory rebuilt Chevrolet manufactured motors. There is nothing special about them. Look for a build date on the block and then go by that to get a small block Chevy oil pan gasket and you will be set.

4. Blue Meanie

the only thing that i can tell that is different is that the oil pan and bottom of block (where the oil pan and block connect) have provisions for left and right dip sticks. i have a rigged gasket in their now and don't think that it is leaking because of that. i think that i over torqued the bolts and pinched the cork. is there a website that anyone knows about that i can learn more about the target master?? thanks guys

5. Grim-Reaper

Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author