Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TBI + 383 or 400 = ? FI GURUS! HELP!

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by zakk, Dec 15, 2001.

  1. zakk

    zakk 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Posts:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose CA
    the K5 has a tired 400, runs strong, just old
    I like the idea of a 383, saving the $$$ for that or 39.5's[​IMG]
    the TBI is stock and complete off a '87 k20
    Should i put it on my 400 or save and put on a 383?
    Will the computer in the TBI handle the 400 or 383 or just go for a 350 stock replacement
    Any help, suggestions, things you heard on a psychic network, etc. appreciated a always.

    -zakk

    '77 1-Ton K5

    [​IMG] CK5's MOAB 2002 OR BUST!! [​IMG]
     
  2. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    You can make it work but you will need to get A reprogramed PROM chip. The 350 chip will only feed enough fuel for a 350s fuel needs. The 383/400 need more fuel.
    Heres some links:
    http://www.jetchip.com

    Also <a target="_blank" href=http://www.turbocity.com/TBIPowerMain.htm>turbocity.com</a> has lots of stuff to bring out performance from a TBI
     
  3. zakk

    zakk 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Posts:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose CA
    Here is the problem
    stock TBI engine put out about 210hp from the factory in small blocks
    my stock 400 puts out 133hp at the rear wheels and is rated @ 175 hp @ 3800 rpm.
    do you still think i will need a new prom?

    -zakk

    '77 1-Ton K5

    [​IMG] CK5's MOAB 2002 OR BUST!! [​IMG]
     
  4. NoShow84

    NoShow84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KANSAS
    you will still need to purchase a new chip. I personally would replace with a 350 motor and 4x4 extreme cam.

    MY WIFE GOT A JEEP, SO I BROKE IT!
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/NoShow84>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/NoShow84</a>
     
  5. zakk

    zakk 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Posts:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose CA
    should i even install it on the 400...
    the 350 i found is hopped up. high compression, lots of cam etc.

    -zakk

    '77 1-Ton K5

    [​IMG] CK5's MOAB 2002 OR BUST!! [​IMG]
     
  6. ftn96

    ftn96 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2000
    Posts:
    3,238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville Tn
    I personally would go with the 350.

    Still hoping the GOV'T will ban the use of loud stereos with RAP music. [​IMG]
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.nashvillek5.freeservers.com>www.nashvillek5.freeservers.com</a>
     
  7. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    The 350 you describe will still need a reprogramed chip.
    The stock chip will only handle mild cams with a computer grind. Also the higher compression will require more fuel that the stock chip can deliver.
    With a engine like that you may be better off with a carb
     
  8. DesertDueler

    DesertDueler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Posts:
    3,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I say put it on your old 400 and set it up and get the bugs worked out of it (wiring, bad sensors etc) Then when its working great then swap the new motor in it. The last thing you would want is to replace the motor and it not start because you didnt wire it up correctly, or it run rough and you have to shut it off and destroy the cam because you didnt let it break in (2500 rpm for 20 minutes).

    86Jimmy 4"&35"MTRs,87 burb 4"&33"MT,69Firebird w/525 hp,and 70GTO live in PHX,AZ<a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/modifierperformance>My vehicles</a>
     
  9. zakk

    zakk 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Posts:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose CA
    custom chips start @ $300 bones...that is spooky expensive

    -zakk

    '77 1-Ton K5

    [​IMG] CK5's MOAB 2002 OR BUST!! [​IMG]
     
  10. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    Yeah they are pricy. Also when setting up the computer/fuel inj hi-perf engine it really helps to have a scanner that gives out readings in real time so you can set your fuel curves.The cheapist one that you can use is an Auto-X Ray at $150. oo.
    An adjustable fuel pressure regulator and adjustable MAP sensor will really help to dial a TBI engine in.
     
  11. Stoopalini

    Stoopalini 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Posts:
    999
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas

Share This Page