Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TBI and CustomEFIs question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Mastiff, Mar 5, 2005.

  1. Mastiff

    Mastiff 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    I switched to TBI from carb on my 83 K5 using a kit from CustomeEFIs. I just figured out today that his harness doesn't even have a wire for the crank signal to the ECM. I learned this because I was trying to figure out why it was starting kind of hard. I know some other guys here bought stuff from CustomEFIs, did you notice this issue?

    Anyone know enough about TBI to know whether the crank signal makes a big difference? I can run the wire if it'll help, it would just be a pain to add the pin and split open the wire loom and all that. :doah:
     
  2. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,537
    Likes Received:
    536
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    you should call them back and ask them why its gone and we need to fix this.

    i had a wire harnness from street and performance for my 4l80 swap and it was missing the aldl conector and the brake light switch wires. i ran it for 1 week before i realized it and almost burnt the tranny up because of there stupid misstake. and thay made me wait 3-4 days for the parts to fix it. when thay shoild have sent them next day.
     
  3. Mastiff

    Mastiff 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Well, it's not really a business, it's a guy working from his house or something. I'll never get a new harness. Especially since it's been a year too. It'd be easier for me to run a wire than replace the whole harness anyway. :frown1:
     
  4. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    Ummmmm... GM TBI does not have a crank siginal sensor. I imagine that is why there is no crank siginal wire. It uses the magnetic pick up coil in the distributor for all its timeing settings
     
  5. Mastiff

    Mastiff 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    They called it "crank signal" on the diagrams. It's the indication that the starter is active. You know... cranking. :grin:
     

Share This Page