Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TBI Fuel Line Options

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by BadDog, Nov 4, 2001.

1. BadDog

BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

Ok, I'm tired of fooling with this fuel system. This is my first attempt at anything like this Diesel to 350 TBI conversion. I thought the best thing to do was keep all the factory stuff so that parts are easy to find, everything works together, and reliability. Maybe not.

I got the fuel lines with my TBI tank and it ends up with the blasted fuel filter EXACTLY in the narrowest part between the frame rail and the 205! Argh! Only about 1/2" clearance with the passenger side exhaust. What jackass engineer decided to rout the fuel lines down the passenger side (along with everything else) and THEN across to the driver's side tank! You can't even change it easily because they use hard lines out the back of the TBI down to the passenger side of the bell housing.

So, what is the best course of action here?

Things I've considered:

These lines that tie into the back of the TBI have the O-ring fitting on both ends, male on top, female on bottom, with the upper half hard line and the lower is braided line. I was thinking of trying to re-rout this down the driver's side. Looks like a real pain. Maybe taking the O-ring ends at the TBI, cutting them off a few inches back, flipping it to point to the driver's side and having standard AN fittings attached so I could run braided all the way down and back. It would be a real pain in the but to try to bend hard line to clear and go down the driver's side.