Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

tbi Fuel pressure gauge

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 91GMCSuburban, Sep 10, 2004.

  1. 91GMCSuburban

    91GMCSuburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Anyone seen a fuel pressure gauge with a max of about 20 psi? I want to install one on my tbi moter.
     
  2. fortcollinsram

    fortcollinsram 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    only FP gauges I have seen ate 15psi max and 100psi max... I am trying VERY HARD to find a mechanical gauge that has like a 20psi or 30psi max as my TBI motor is at about 18psi unter full load...

    I am currently using a AutoMeter 15psi gauge and the FP gets PEGGED at WOT...

    Chris
     
  3. Mastiff

    Mastiff 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Here's what I have:

    http://www.jegs.com/cgi-bin/ncommerce3/ProductDisplay?prrfnbr=1597&prmenbr=361

    30 psi max.

    I've noticed that it reads incorrectly when it gets heated up. Apparently this is just the way it is for the fluid filled gauges since the fluid expands and fights against the fuel pressure resulting in a low reading. It reads right when cool though.

    The slick setup is to run tubing into the cab, maybe that's what you had in mind anyway.
     
  4. nvrenuf

    nvrenuf NONE shall pass! Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Posts:
    13,088
    Likes Received:
    252
    Location:
    Mobile, Al.
    Can this be used with an (Autometer?) isolator (for incab installation)? Do you know what diameter the gauge is? 2 1/8"?
     
  5. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    [ QUOTE ]
    The slick setup is to run tubing into the cab, maybe that's what you had in mind anyway

    [/ QUOTE ] /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif
    A fuel line in the Cab?? /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif No thanks! Burning to death aint my idea of a good time.
    Do it right! Use an isolator. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  6. Mastiff

    Mastiff 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    No, they have isolator tubes with some other kind of fluid in them to transmit the pressure into the cab.
     
  7. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    Oh sorry man.... I just didn't want someone to get the idea they could run a fuel line in the cab.
     

Share This Page