Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Tbi- Help!

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by AJENSEN383, Nov 2, 2006.

1. AJENSEN383

AJENSEN383 Registered Member

Hi guys i am a newbie to posting to this form although i have been reading alot from here and learning alot...

I do have a problem though,I have an 1988 k1500 it originally had a 305 tbi with a 5 speed and replaced it with a 355 for more power (slightly bigger cam, but nothing major 204/214 @ .050, and headers, other than that it is stock)...I swapped to a 350 injectors,and knock sensor but everything else i kept from the 305 including the chip (1227747 computer).. Driveability is pretty terrible... I can start it up in the morning and drive it for about 1/2 mile with no problems, then it seems to go lean and spit and sputter and have a huge miss to it, but when i floor it it will clear up and run better...It seems that it is only at light to mid throttle, or anytime i put a load on it, it will run this way..It does throw a lean code everytime i drive it as well, but it does run real bad in closed loop mode in the morning too..I did notice that since the 350 is in it, morning start up is only at 1,000rpm and with the 305 it was somewhere around 1500 or so then drop down slowly...

DO you guys think that i need to go to a 350 chip? Can i just swap computers with one from a 350tbi?? Does the BCC code matter?? Could i use a computer from a 350tbi and automatic??.. Any help would be appreciated, since i am going outof my mind here!!!

Thanks
    Jeff

2. Russell

Russell LB7 Tahoe Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

Hey Jeff!

Can you get me more details on the camshaft? Specifically the lobe separation angle?