Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TBI Pump: In-Tank or In-line?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by BadDog, Nov 4, 2001.

1. BadDog

BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

Ok, I'm tired of fooling with this fuel system. This is my first attempt at anything like this Diesel to 350 TBI conversion. I thought the best thing to do was keep all the factory stuff so that parts are easy to find, everything works together, and reliability. Maybe not. It's tough as @#$ to find a TBI tank that goes outside the rails. On top of that, I have yet to find a good one (without busted baffles).

So, I'm looking for opinions/facts on fuel pumps/tanks. I've heard a bunch of stuff but how much is fact or fiction, I don't know. Maybe you TBI/EFI guys can put me on the right trail?

So, why would I want it in the tank? In the tank is cheaper (about 1/2 the price), (supposedly) more reliable, and easier to find in your average parts house. Only problem is, it is hard to access, and hard to find the right tank.

I shied away from using the diesel tank with an in-line pump for the following reasons. It costs about twice as much, so for the same amount I can put a new pump in the tank and carry an extra (which are already more reliable I'm told). In-line TBI pumps are also not readily available in your average parts house. One other thing, with the diesel tank, it seems I would still have the problem of running out of gas on extreme angles because there is no baffle.

So, what do ya'll think? Is my thinking right? Have I missed anything? Maybe I should just get a fuel cell and put it in the bed? I'm guessing that would eliminate the baffles problem but I would need an in-line pump? Starting to wish I'd put a Q-Jet on this thing, I would already be driving it by now. [​IMG]