Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TBI starting problems?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Rockjunkies, Nov 24, 2002.

  1. Rockjunkies

    Rockjunkies 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Posts:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I put a chevy tbi motor in my rig and finally got it wired in using a painless wiring harness. We did not use the vss or egr valve. The injectors will not pulse while the engine cranks over. You can start it by priming the tbi and it runs great afterwards. There is no codes stored in the computer. Any body have any sugestions on what could be causing this!
     
  2. TopOff

    TopOff 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Posts:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Folsom, ca
    If it's a factory TBI and factory chip, you WILL through the CEL (Check Engine Light).

    I am not sure, but I think you need a VSS unit. Do you have one hooked up?

    The pump should turn on for a second or two when you first turn on the ignition. If that's not working check the three (or four) 12 volt ignition inputs.

    Check out DIY-EFI.org for more help.

    What computer (e.g. 1227747) do you have?

    Good luck.
     
  3. azblazor

    azblazor 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Posts:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona, Phoenix area
    The computer doesn't have the power hooked up right. Don't know about the painless loom - but if you look in a factory wiring diagram there are a few different power feeds into the computer. Its one of them thats not wired right. Probably.
     
  4. Rockjunkies

    Rockjunkies 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Posts:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I fixed the problem. It turned out to be a faulty ign. switch. It will only start if you barely turn the tumbler. Needs adjustment. It's alway's the overlooked things! Thanks.
     
  5. azblazor

    azblazor 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Posts:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona, Phoenix area

Share This Page