Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

tbi tach output?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by ryan22re, Dec 27, 2005.

  1. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    installing a cheapo tachometer today, and am wondering where would be the best place to pick up the rpm signal.

    i was thinking the white wire coming from the coil, but i seem to remember the esc module having a tach output.

    id really like to pick up the signal at the ecm, so i can avoid wiring under the hood. im thinking it should be the same white wire from the coil, just under the dash. oh yeah, its an 87.

    ryan
     
  2. opfor2

    opfor2 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ventura County, CA
    There should be a tack output wire on the HEI distributor
     
  3. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,554
    Likes Received:
    548
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    the coil wires have a extra plug not used and this is the wire to hook it upo to. the tbi dist dont hook up like the old hei ones do.
     
  4. redneckdude

    redneckdude 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Posts:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Augusta, GA
    I asked about this a while back...there is an extra terminal on the coil for tach signal. Find a thread abotu this started by me and theres a pic in it from another member that shows right where it is.
     
  5. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    yeah i found it.

    thanks for the help.

    it's working good.


    ryan
     

Share This Page