Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

tbi to carb swap

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by K5Dan, Apr 1, 2003.

  1. K5Dan

    K5Dan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Posts:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port St. Lucie,Fl
    swapping an 87 blazer to carb.wondering if the 700r4 is controlledby the computer in any way?also would i need a new bracket for the acc. and t.v. cable thats it for now but will have more ?'s on this swap as it unfolds /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gifthanks /forums/images/graemlins/ears.gif
     
  2. 88Silverado

    88Silverado 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Posts:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quartz Hill, So. Cal
    Why are you switching to a carb?
    Bowtie Overdrive in Hesperia makes a nice mounting bracket kit for the TV cable.
    The 700R4 is not computer controlled, only the 4L80E version is.
     
  3. Mudzer

    Mudzer 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    3,639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    When you pull your TBI, go ahead and box it up and I'll pay shipping! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  4. K5Dan

    K5Dan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Posts:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port St. Lucie,Fl
    thanks 88 /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  5. fortcollinsram

    fortcollinsram 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    The 700r4's TC lockup IS controlled by the computer...So if you swap to a cab, you must get a TC lockup kit...You can probably get one from Jegs or Summit for like $30 or so...The 700 is a popular swap for rodders so there are many options available...

    Chris
     
  6. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,030
    Likes Received:
    365
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    ditto, send me your TBI set up! /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    j
     
  7. 88Silverado

    88Silverado 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Posts:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quartz Hill, So. Cal
    oops...forgot about lockup. BTOD also makes an adaptor for the lockup, basically when it shifts into OD, it locks up immeadiatly. I believe its done just by applying 12V to the trans, dont forget to get the new brake switch which will release the lockup when the brakes.
    look at http://700r4.com/sitemap.html

    Again, why are you swapping from a TBI to a carb? /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
    If you want more power, buy the Holley TBI unit and a modified chip from Hypertech. The holly TBI as about 670CFM, more than enough for any smallblock setup and you dont have to worry about flooding, loading up, standing it on its tail, etc.
     
  8. K5Dan

    K5Dan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Posts:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port St. Lucie,Fl
    I've had nothing but trouble with the tbi.it has been a pain for me.the carb stalls on an incline where as my tbi stalls on the street /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gifso i got a carbed 406 im going to swap in instead.i run mostly mud with the blazer /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gifand anything else i can fit it through /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  9. 88Silverado

    88Silverado 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Posts:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quartz Hill, So. Cal
    /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     

Share This Page