Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TC not locking up gonna kill my tranny??

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 85mudblazin, Apr 26, 2005.

  1. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    My TC has not been locking up since the first day that I bought it, I have a 24,000 GVW tranny cooler, 4.88's, and 35" tires. Will i be ok to run it like this and not smoke the tranny?? If my ATF temps are ok but the TC is not locking up will that hurt anything except my gas mileage??
    BTW this is a 700r4.
    Thanks
    -Chris
     
  2. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    as long as you have a big cooler on it and check the fluid regularly to make sure it isn't burnt, your only hurting your gas millage
     
  3. cybrfire

    cybrfire 1 ton status Vendor GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Posts:
    15,143
    Likes Received:
    574
    Location:
    Iowa
    In my experience the temps will rise in OD when not locked up. Keep it in "D" till ya get it sorted out then you should be fine. Mine did the same thing for a while and when I tried to use OD it started to warm up right away. Drop it back into D and the temps slowly decreased. I was using the biggest cooler I could lay my hands on. AC condenser!
     
  4. chevy_addict

    chevy_addict 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Posts:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    You are here, I am not
    Ditto, my TC wasn't locking up in 4th and I had the same temperature issues. I purchased this kit from Bowtie Overdrives and now I have lockup in 4th and my transmission temperature dropped 30 degrees (from 180 to 150 deg F) on the freeway compared to running in drive before. :grin:

    Dave
     
  5. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    I have been looking at there kits, how hard was that one to install?
     
  6. chevy_addict

    chevy_addict 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Posts:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    You are here, I am not
    It was pretty easy (but messy), after you pull the pan, remove all the internal wiring, replace the solinoid with the one in the kit, replace the 4th gear pressure switch and rewire with the included wiring.

    Getting the 4th gear pressure switch out was kind of a pain, I had to remove the 3rd gear (I think) pressure switch to get to it. I used either a 26mm or a 24mm socket, (I'll check tonight) to get the 3rd gear switch out and then used a 1-1/16 open end wrench to remove the 4th gear switch, put the 3rd gear switch back in after installing the new 4th gear pressure switch.

    After all that was done I wired up the relay and was finished.

    Here is a picture of my tranny with all the old wiring, the switch with the green connector on the left is the 4th gear switch, and the one next to it is the one I had to remove to get a wrench on the 4th gear switch

    Dave

    MVC-008F.JPG
     
  7. cybrfire

    cybrfire 1 ton status Vendor GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Posts:
    15,143
    Likes Received:
    574
    Location:
    Iowa
    I used the factory cruise control switch. My cruise wasn't operational anyway and all the stuff was hanging there. All you have to do is supply power to the TC solenoid through the switch for cruise control. When you depress the brake pedal the cruise control switch will disengage the circuit thereby shutting off the lock up. It's really simple. You do have to have the correct style TC solenoid though. Has to be a two wire if memory serves.
     
  8. chevy_addict

    chevy_addict 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Posts:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    You are here, I am not

    This is cheaper than buying the kit, wish I knew that before :doah:
     
  9. surpip

    surpip 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    If your cruise still works can you still do that?
     
  10. Emmettology 101

    Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Posts:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    Definately get the lock-up action fixed before you run it in OD anymore. I have talked to two different tranny shops that say you'll burn up the clutches if the TC doesn't lock up..
     
  11. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    OK so if I have the 2 wire selenoid then I dont have to buy the kit that has the internal stuff which is like $70, I can just buy the one with the external wiring kit??
    And where is the selenoid so I can checl if it is a 2 wire??
     
  12. chevy_addict

    chevy_addict 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Posts:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    You are here, I am not
    Pull the pan and the solinoid is a white piece up by the torque convertor, look in the pictures of the BTO kit and it's the long white thing. The one I removed was a two wire.
     

Share This Page