Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Tcase doubler

Discussion in 'OffRoad Design' started by cegusman, Jul 15, 2002.

  1. cegusman

    cegusman 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Posts:
    6,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston/Katy, Tx
    What is requied to install a doubler behind a 700r4, what 203 for what trans, and what 205 for what trans, would I need a different output shaft on the trans? Or iws this not possible? Are you able to still use the pto option?
     
  2. BlazerGuy

    BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    abcde
    Taken from http://www.offroaddesign.com/catalog/doubler.htm
    </font><blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr />
    GM TH700 R4 / 4L60E Automatic Transmission:
    The TH700 has the same bolt pattern on the back of the transmission as the TH350 and uses a 27 spline output shaft. Since the TH700 only came with the NP208 or later alum t-cases, it's shaft stickout is a little over 2" in factory form. One difference to be aware of is that the TH700 uses 4 metric bolts to secure the adapter to the transmission case.
    There are two ways to bolt to the NP203. They are very similar to the TH350 mounting mentioned above.
    1: replace the output shaft in the TH700 with an aftermarket output that sticks out of the case by about 7/8". This makes the output identical to the TH350 and you use a TH350 version NP203 with the 27 spline input and a TH350 to NP203 factory 1" thick adapter plate. This is the shortest method. The output shaft cost is $160 and it is available from ORD.

    2: use the factory TH700 output shaft and the factory TH700 to NP208 adapter housing with a TH350 version NP203. You will have to re-drill and tap holes in the NP203 gearbox to be able to bolt it to the original NP208 adapter housing. You may also have to do minor machine work on the input bearing retainer on the NP203.



    [/ QUOTE ]
     
  3. Stephen

    Stephen 1/2 ton status Moderator Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Posts:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Carbondale Colorado
    There's more info on this on our site and available if you search here but this is it in a nutshell:
    Replace output shaft in TH700, we carry the part, it's $160.00
    Use TH350 version NP203 with factory 350 to 203 adapter plate.
    Use TH400 version 205 from early 80's. Or modify another 205 to match this spec.

    You can still use the PTO on the 203 and the 205, depending on the clearance around the unit, etc. You may also need some case mods on the 203 to run the PTO since we use the PTO cover for the oil fill with our kit. Basically you'll need to add oil somewhere else.
     
  4. cegusman

    cegusman 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Posts:
    6,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston/Katy, Tx
    Is the output shaft the same one used to connect the 205 to the 700r4?
     
  5. Stephen

    Stephen 1/2 ton status Moderator Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Posts:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Carbondale Colorado
    Yup, as long as you're using the TH350 to NP205 factory adapter housing.
     

Share This Page