Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TCS Relay

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by arq, Apr 28, 2004.

  1. arq

    arq 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2001
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Imperial Valley/Maricopa
    anyone have a TCS relay that I can have. it sits beside the horn relay on the firewall by the steering column. It's more of the emissions caca i need. It'd be great if the harness was attached to it aswell /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    this is what it looks like
    [​IMG]

    thanks,

    ARQ.
     
  2. 69K5

    69K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Posts:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Monroe, LA
    if i have the one off the 72 i tore apart you can have it ill look tonoght.

    69k5
     
  3. TONYP

    TONYP 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    so cal
    what the hell is that...I know it's part of the smog stuff but I know my truck doesn't have that....
    I'm going to ask my bud if I can snap some pic's of his truck cause it's stock..
     
  4. Burt4x4

    Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California (Modesto area)
    Hmmm, I don't know if I have that or not?
    I will look to see /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif

    Is that the spark control thingy that was on the visual test list I gave you?
     
  5. arq

    arq 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2001
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Imperial Valley/Maricopa
    it sits just above the steering column, next to the horn relay on the firewall. Mine came with it and it probably sits somewhere in a scrap yard somewhere.... yearone carries them but are currently out of stock it wont be a few weeks before they get them.

    thanks agian,

    ARQ.
     
  6. Triaged

    Triaged 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Posts:
    3,808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA (LA/OC area)
    I think I have one of those under the hood...not sure if it does anything on my truck because I have HEI (and have no idea how the previous owner wired it other than it works /forums/images/graemlins/crazy.gif).

    I'll pull it off Fri and see if it still runs...it's yours if it does.
     
  7. arq

    arq 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2001
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Imperial Valley/Maricopa
    Burt,
    the spark control was in the list of items that PASSED.

    Triaged,
    I don't think it's a common relay. If i remember corectly there is some delay in it. I took mine apart cause it was not working like a normal relay was. When i opened it up I found some other stuff in there. It's been a while so i may be wrong.

    thanks,

    ARQ.
     
  8. 69K5

    69K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Posts:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Monroe, LA
    i didnt find it but ill keep looking.
     
  9. Burt4x4

    Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California (Modesto area)
    I didn't look last night..forgot
    If it is on that list then it is on my rig still.
    I wrote a note on my hand to check when I get home /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
    I'll let you know... /forums/images/graemlins/weld.gif
     
  10. Burt4x4

    Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California (Modesto area)
    Damit Arq, I forgot again!!!
    When I get home my wife heads out the door to do her Real Estate stuff www.lisaburt.com (shameless plug) and I turn into Mr. Mom...before I know it I'm back at work the next morning /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grind.gif
    Anyway i'll SO try to find this critter tonight.... /forums/images/graemlins/weld.gif
     
  11. Burt4x4

    Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California (Modesto area)
    I think I found it Arq!
    What I see is just to the right top of the fuse box.
    It looks to have the same plugs /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gifand yes the harness is still plugged into it too.
    So If I cut it out will something die?
    Do you have a scematic of were or what it connects to?
    I would gladly give it to you once I make sure I can cut it out with no worries??? /forums/images/graemlins/hack.gif
    Let me know what you think....
    I didn't have much time this weekend to figure out were the wire lead too that are hoooked to it... /forums/images/graemlins/grind.gif
    Burt
     
  12. TONYP

    TONYP 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    so cal
    did you try this place, there in so cal...


    truck shop
     
  13. arq

    arq 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2001
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Imperial Valley/Maricopa
    you rock Burt /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif

    I'll send you some schems of where it goes. I don't think anything will die.

    it has two inputs(tranny and temperature sensor)
    and some outputs(solenoid that bolts to the front of the carb and vacuum valve that goes to the distributor)

    the purpose is to retard(not advance) the timing when puting the vehicle in reverse(and when in high gear) or when it's too cold(or was it hot) /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

    thanks again,
    /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
    ARQ.
     
  14. arq

    arq 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2001
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Imperial Valley/Maricopa
    here it is

    [​IMG]

    I hope i don't hurt anyone's brain with this /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
    I still don't understand why that idle stop solenoid is there. why not turn
    in idle screw in more /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif unless the EPA does not want any fumes from
    the intake manifold to escape out in the atmosphere when the ignition is off.
     
  15. Burt4x4

    Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California (Modesto area)
    Ok I'll cut it out and send it too you.
    PM me your addy again I don't think I kept it.
    I will try to get it out before Friday,,,,,TRY /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
    you know how busy I get after work so...
    Later
     
  16. Burt4x4

    Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California (Modesto area)
    Here is were I found it, mine looks a bit different than the one in the pic you posted?
    [​IMG]
    See It? look between the spring and speedo cable just above the fuse box. I have it in my hand and will mail it to you today, I hope it's the right one? Should bee I didn't see much else up in there...
     
  17. BobK

    BobK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,
    Burt,isn't that your horn relay?
    Does your horn still work?
    I ask cause that's exactly where my horn relay is located. /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
     
  18. BobK

    BobK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,
    See...my horn relay.
    [​IMG]

    All my TSC relays were in the eng. bay,to the right and up from were the main wire harness goes through the firewall.
     
  19. BobK

    BobK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,
    TCS relay(2 of them) were mounted where I now have a power distribution block(red arrow)
    [​IMG]
     
  20. arq

    arq 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2001
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Imperial Valley/Maricopa
    Bob,
    in 72 the TCS delay relay and the Horn relay were next to each other. I belive the horn relay was mounted with the prongs on it's side. The TCS were pointing out. That's how i remember mine when i took it out(and thew it away).

    it should be easy to identify. The harness was not tied to the rest. It was a standalong harness. Like if it was added later or as a california option.

    Burt, if it's your horn relay that you sent. I'll get it back to you.

    They were different variations of the relay, they should all work the same. Just the number of prongs changed. The 20sec delay should still apply. I belive they even used them on some seat belt warnings. Like when you jump in an older car and a buzzer goes of untill the seat belt is put on or a time elapses.

    thanks,

    ARQ.
     

Share This Page