Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Tech issue with my DD radio...

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by newyorkin, Oct 10, 2005.

1. newyorkin

newyorkin 1 ton status

My 94 Intrepid's stock radio died yesterday after I gave someone a jump start. I checked the fuse, it's all good, shut off and restarted the car (can you tell I'm a Windows tech?), still no sign of life on it.
    So I figured I'd put in an old Kenwood head unit I had sitting around. This unit actually matches the cd changer that I have in the car and had been using with a modulator and remote (I liked the stock radio, ok??).

So I go get the wire harness kit, spend a little while watching tv and making nice little connections, then go out to the car to put it in.

So I turn the key on for kicks, and the stock radio comes on like nothing ever happened. It sat for about 36 hours since it died yesterday. I figure frig it, I have the Kenwood with the better CD controls and it should be a 5 minute swap, I'll just do it.

I pull the old, put in the new, and immediately notice when I plug in the power, the capstan on the cassette starts spinning, the faceplate not even on the unit yet. I turn on the ignition and put on the faceplate, and the display flashes quick, but doesn't come one. I start the car, and the tuner comes on. I switch to cd and can navigate through the changer, but the audio is way too low and steadily pulses in and out. The capstan is spinning this whole time.
    I shut the car off and go into accessory, and the tuner won't come back on.

To test the car, I plugged the stock radio back in, and it was back to showing no signs of life.
    All connections are good, according to my multimeter.