Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Tell me what you think of this:

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by 73k5blazer, Mar 15, 2006.

  1. 73k5blazer

    73k5blazer Unplug the matrix cable from the back of your head Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    The Rustbelt
    In an effort to furthur my personal IT Skills I re-created my first web-database application. The Vehicle Service Tracker. I created it in 2003 to keep track of all my junk and what parts I put on them when, and now cannot I live without it. I just re-did the whole thing so it's usable by others (password protected, error checking input..etc), more features, and looks alot nicer. Also ported it from tcl to php.

    http://www.snyderworld.org/VST

    Does anyone else find this at all useful?

    Info on it is here
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2006
  2. dontoe

    dontoe 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Posts:
    9,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hickory, N.C.
    That's really kool, but I have trouble keeping my check register on Excel, and bill chart updated on Word. Really good stuff though. :waytogo:
     
  3. Leper

    Leper 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Posts:
    4,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas Baby!!!!
    I wish I had that a couple of years ago. Awesome job sir.
     
  4. tiger9297

    tiger9297 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Posts:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tupelo, Mississippi
    I have a log book I keep on my truck. I like your system better. Much cleaner.
     
  5. 73k5blazer

    73k5blazer Unplug the matrix cable from the back of your head Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    The Rustbelt
    Well, it's freely available for anyone to use. It's been up there since 2003. I back it up regularly and never use or sell anyones information. So by all means, use it if you want. (just make sure to register yourself for a new user, I had some people in the past adding thier stuff to demo user, which of course is viewed and editable by anyone, and I also reset demo every now and again as people tyring it out tend to enter illogical information that confuses others, like odometer reading 3,539,121,433, which would cause the cents/per mile to be essentially zero...etc...)

    Mabey I should ask Steve if he wants the php code, to add it to this site. Or a link and I can host....
     
  6. Leper

    Leper 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Posts:
    4,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas Baby!!!!
    Do you care if I link it from my site??


    BTW.... I added something to the demo user repairs. lol I didn't think it would stay.
     
  7. 73k5blazer

    73k5blazer Unplug the matrix cable from the back of your head Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    The Rustbelt

    Not at all. Feel free.
    I'm getting a package together, I'll post on sourceforge or some php downloads site in the next couple days if anyone wants the code and db schema.
     
  8. BranndonC

    BranndonC 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    8,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca
    thanks, i'm definately signing up!
     
  9. 87GreyGhost

    87GreyGhost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corpus,Texas
    Sweet database, much better than excel..Which I had that before i started updating my Stolen 87
     
  10. BranndonC

    BranndonC 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    8,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca
    can you still change it? In the "Source" secton, I'd like to be able to put in more information such as

    Name: Champoin auto parts
    Phone: (714) 997-3322
    Website: ________________
    maybe even address, or purchase order number. This way we can keep track of what we do our selves. I dont take my truck to a shop.
     
  11. 73k5blazer

    73k5blazer Unplug the matrix cable from the back of your head Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    The Rustbelt
    It's my code, on my server, under my desk, at my house.
    I sure hope I can change it! (Even though I'm 400miles away right now!)
    Yeah, that's not a bad idea. So for each line item your talking I would take it?
    I can add that in this weekend. Figuring out how to display all the information neatly is the toughest part.
     
  12. BranndonC

    BranndonC 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    8,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca
    yeah each line item. I know the more info you add the worse it looks. What about making the source a link on the main list, so if you click it you get a pop up with the info you entered. Maybe with notes also. So the page doesnt get anymore cluttered? Just a thought. Dont know whats realistic though
     
  13. 73k5blazer

    73k5blazer Unplug the matrix cable from the back of your head Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    The Rustbelt
    Yep, that's exactly what I had in mind. Each line item in the source box would be displayed with a small [ detail ] link (if it had extra detail) which would throw a popup or something with the more detailed information like phone/website etc.
    Excellent suggestion. Thanks!
    That, and the edit line items page to come, probably this weekend.
     
  14. chevyfumes

    chevyfumes Court jester

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    38,584
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    Watch for the muzzleflash!
    Poop in pants...hahahaha Napa has everything.
     
  15. 73k5blazer

    73k5blazer Unplug the matrix cable from the back of your head Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    The Rustbelt

    Ok, I added a notes input field which displays a little [n] on the line item if notes are present for that line.
    I did use javascript only because a popup for that notes is much cleaner. But if no javascript enabled, it opens in a whole new window instead of the javascript small popup.
    Notes could be anything related to that line.
    Still need to have an edit line item (so you could add notes to an existing line!), that's next. But you can add notes on input.
     
  16. BranndonC

    BranndonC 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    8,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca
    awesome thanks!
     
  17. justhorsinaround

    justhorsinaround 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    6,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northerish Phoenix, Az
    That is pretty nifty. Signed up and everything. Now if we can just remember to add the information it'll be useful.
     
  18. 73k5blazer

    73k5blazer Unplug the matrix cable from the back of your head Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    The Rustbelt
    If anyone want's to run their own tracker, It's up on SourceForge.
    I believe in Open Source.

    http://sourceforge.net/projects/vst/

    You can use the SourceForge area to inform me of bugs, request features, etc.
    Or of course just PM me. I'm always here, roving around.


    ---------------------------------
    PREQUSITES FOR TRACKER OPERATION:

    - Webserver with PHP
    (PHP must have been compiled with db2 support --with-ibm-db2 )
    Tested webservers: Apache 2.0.53
    PHP Level 5.0.4 (no reason it shouldn't work on PHP4,
    but haven't tested)
    Sorry, no MySQL yet, but I plan it. I do ue the odbc calls, so
    I think, from what I read, that only the connect statment differs
    and all the rest of the database calls are ok? Not sure, but I think.

    - DB2 V7.1 or above (any marketing package eg UDB, Personal ..etc)

    - ImageMagick 5.4.2 or above (from http://www.imagemagick.org )

    - Any UNIX Operating system (Sorry, no windows..perhaps in the future)
    (What doesn't work on windows you ask, there's a few shell calls
    for image convert and one other for version, simple enough to
    case out but havn't done it, there's propably more than that as
    well, I've never used PHP on windows, so I don't know)
    - For clarity sake, I've only tested this on AIX V5.3ML04, but
    I really see no reason it shouldn't run out of the box on any
    UNIX OS.
     

Share This Page