Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Temp. Gauge

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Klef72K5, Oct 8, 2001.

  1. Klef72K5

    Klef72K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2001
    Posts:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia City, Indiana
    My gauge burries itself to the hot side when I turn the key to the on position. When I start it, it doesn't move at all. I've replaced the sending unit and tried a different gauge. I don't know if this gauge worked either, just extra parts and had to try. I also just finished installing a complete wiring harness, the old harness did the same. Is this the signs of a bad gauge? Does Auto Gauge make a factory replacement?

    <a target="_blank" href=http://wsphotofews.excite.com/031/rw/Jo/og/t488200.jpg>http://wsphotofews.excite.com/031/rw/Jo/og/t488200.jpg</a>
     
  2. Klef72K5

    Klef72K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2001
    Posts:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia City, Indiana
    Come on Guys! I need some help....Please!

    <a target="_blank" href=http://wsphotofews.excite.com/031/rw/Jo/og/t488200.jpg>http://wsphotofews.excite.com/031/rw/Jo/og/t488200.jpg</a>
     
  3. travis

    travis 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2000
    Posts:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Panama City, FL
    Did it work before? Have you had any wires off before you replaced the harness? Sounds like a crossed or frayed wire. I'll have to look at schematics later on, but I think the gage works by applying ground to the wire coming from the sending unit. Disconnect sending unit an see if gage still does the same thing. If so, find the wire and disconnect it from the firewall. If gage stops working completely, you narrowed down the problem. In short, the wire is grounded somewhere and it shouldn't be. You need to trace it back. It's probably pinched somewhere under the dash. It could even be the plug on the back of the instrument cluster. Hope this helps. When I get a chance to look at a schematic I can tell you what color wire you need to find.

    Good luck,
    Travis
     
  4. BobK

    BobK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,
    Did your instrument cluster orig. come with gauges or was it just idiot lites.I ask because the temp. sender in the block is different.I believe the wiring harness for the gauge package is different from the basic idiot lite wire harness.If your harness and gauge is o.k. I'm thinking ground problem.I'd check and make sure the sender is the correct one for a temp gauge.
    Oh yea...NICE TRUCK!!!!

    <font color=green>BobK<font color=green>
     
  5. Klef72K5

    Klef72K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2001
    Posts:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia City, Indiana
    It did it with the old harness and now with the new. There is no pinched wires. It could be the gauge......I just don't know what the symptoms are of a bad gauge. It does act like a reverse polarity! When I turn the key to the "on" position the needle hits hard on the hot side.

    <a target="_blank" href=http://wsphotofews.excite.com/031/rw/Jo/og/t488200.jpg>http://wsphotofews.excite.com/031/rw/Jo/og/t488200.jpg</a>
     
  6. BobK

    BobK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,
    See if you can get your hands on a gauge you KNOW works and test it in your truck.

    <font color=green>BobK<font color=green>
     
  7. Ryan B.

    Ryan B. 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Posts:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    I don't think it's the gauge.

    When the wire to the coolant temp. switch is grounded, the gauge will read all the way to the hot side (this is all with the key in run position.)
    You probally have that wire grounded or shorted to ground somewhere.
    If the wire is hooked up to the coolant temp. switch, then disconnect it (open the circuit) and then turn the key to RUN and see if the gauge drops all the way to the cold side.
    If this happens, your wiring and your gauge is good!
    See if your getting voltage on that wire, and if you are, then its the Coolant temp. sensor is bad.

    If you disconnect that wire, and it stays at the HOT side of the gauge, your wiring is shorted to ground somewhere.
    The color of the wire you'd be hunting down is Dark Green on the wiring diagram.

    Good luck!
     

Share This Page