Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

temperature gauge not working

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 90K5, Oct 4, 2001.

  1. 90K5

    90K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    Posts:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Just looked at the temp gauge today after driving for a while and it was way below 100...and the engien is fine. What could be wrong with it?

    90K5
     
  2. Pugsley

    Pugsley 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Posts:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    Probably a screwed up sender - cost around 8 bucks for a new one.

    Of the 5 toughest dogs in the neighborhood, my cat's ranked #3
    <a target="_blank" href=http://pugsley.alloffroad.com>pugsley.alloffroad.com</a>
     
  3. 4x4blazer

    4x4blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Posts:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Not to insult your intelligence or anything....but make sure the wire didnt just slip off the sensor, and that it is good from the sensor up to the guage. Also, those sensors can go bad and they are cheap and easy to replace.
    Hope this helps.
     
  4. ironmikek5

    ironmikek5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 31, 2001
    Posts:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Mine works fine, the temp is always smack in the middle of the guage, even before I put the key in the ignition.

    $8 will solve my problem.

    <font color=red>I will not tolerate intolerance </font color=red>[​IMG]
     
  5. sapper

    sapper 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Posts:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVa
    i second 4x4 blazer i knocked mine off once while changing spark plugs. it should be on the drivers side around the center of the block. hope this helps

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradoK5.com/gallery/Pauls89K5>http://coloradoK5.com/gallery/Pauls89K5</a>
     
  6. 90K5

    90K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    Posts:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Oh yeah...green wire near spark plugs?...disconnected it working on valve cover gaskets last weekend...sad thing is it took me this long to notice.

    90K5
     
  7. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    That's the one! Drivers side of the engine. [​IMG]

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck>www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck</a>
    It's a great day to be alive...
     
  8. Blazer_Boy

    Blazer_Boy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sioux City, IA, USA
    It probably is the sender but you can test your gauge by grounding your sender wire. Just unhook it and touch it against your manifold (cold, of course) and check your gauge. It should go allll the way over to the right if it its OK.

    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/bigkern76>http://www.geocities.com/bigkern76</a>
     
  9. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    OK since his problem is now solved, Ihave one myself. My gauge just trips out. At times it will be dead and others it whips all over. Seems like now its just dead towards the top. I just got the rig up and running so I put in a new sender a few weeks ago. When I ground out the wire it does nothing. Is it the gauge itself thats messed up or do I have another problem?? I will be installing manual gauges( no sending units to worry w/ ) But I would like to have this one running also. (just until I tear it all out and go w/ all Autometer gauges)

    If ya can't stop.......Smile as you go under! [​IMG]
     
  10. Blazer_Boy

    Blazer_Boy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sioux City, IA, USA
    Could be your gauge or have a short/bad connection.

    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/bigkern76>http://www.geocities.com/bigkern76</a>
     
  11. Pugsley

    Pugsley 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Posts:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    Sounds like your gauge itself has gone tits up - I think Ben (Itali83) has one he'll part with. Shoot him a PM and check it out[​IMG]

    Of the 5 toughest dogs in the neighborhood, my cat's ranked #3
    <a target="_blank" href=http://pugsley.alloffroad.com>pugsley.alloffroad.com</a>
     
  12. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    Thanx guys! Ill look for a bad connection, but Im putting in a set of mech. gauges, so I wont put a whole bunch of time into it. I was hoping this was a common and easy fix. Which it is, but Im not gonna bother to replace the fact. gauge, just to tear it out anyhow.

    If ya can't stop.......Smile as you go under! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page