Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Temperature sensor/gauge problem...

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by fortcollinsram, Dec 21, 2001.

  1. fortcollinsram

    fortcollinsram 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    I just relplaced my temperature sending unit and it's a no go...still no temperature reading...Is there a way I can test the gauge I have before I drop $$$ on a new gauge... What other things may I have to trouble shoot to try to figure this out? thanks

    Chris

    Was that a speed bump? No, just a Rice Rocket </font color=red> <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/fortcollinsram>My 87 Blazer</a>
     
  2. Itali83

    Itali83 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Posts:
    795
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westbrook Maine
    If you take the wire of the sending unit, and ground it out, the guage should max out I believe, if it dosen't the guage is bad. Check with others but I think this is right.
    Ben 87 jimmy
    <font color=blue>Rust=Bad</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.bens87toy.alloffroad.com>www.bens87toy.alloffroad.com</a>
     
  3. 87K54WD

    87K54WD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2000
    Posts:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    That is correct. Just ground the wiring harness that connects to the temp sensor and the guage will go to max if it is working correctly. Really have to get a good ground connection to make sure the guage will max out. So, if it doesn't do it the first time, make sure you try it a couple of times. If it still doesn't work, you might want to trace the wiring for cuts, etc before getting a new guage.
     
  4. Slayer

    Slayer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Posts:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Colorado, jokingly referred to as Western
    <font color=red>I had the SAME problem................

    My crate motor came with a temp sending unit that did NOT work with the '77 OEM guage.
    </font color=red><font color=green>
    The guy @ Checker told me that in '89 the sensors changed resistance. My original sensor was the "large" diameter sender, but the crate motor took the "small" diameter sender.

    What he told me was to buy a "small" diameter unit for a pre-89 and I did.

    Installed it and it works just fine...............
    </font color=green>


    <font color=blue>I don't know everything, I just think that I do.............</font color=blue>[​IMG]
     
  5. Blazer_Boy

    Blazer_Boy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sioux City, IA, USA
    I had the same problem as described below. I went to Northern Auto Parts (down the street from me) along with my ohm meter. I had them line everything GM up for me and went down the line until I found a match for the correct reading. They had a temp sensor by Standard, the number on the box is TS71. It pays to never throw things out, haha.

    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/bigkern76>The Blazer Boy Page</a>
     

Share This Page