Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TH 350 to 700R4 Conversion

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Wheels, Mar 7, 2001.

  1. Wheels

    Wheels 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Posts:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Native Floridian living in Oklahoma, USA
    After a long search, I finally found a 700R4 that I've totally rebuilt. Has all the mods and upgrades. The only thing left is the lockup convertor mod needed to install it in a non-700R4 application. There are three companies out there that make a kit for this type: B & M, TCI and Painless. I was wondering if anyone has used one of these or has any recommendations. I've heard that the Painless is pretty simple and straight forward. They all run about the same as far as price. Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks ahead of time.
     
  2. Emmettology 101

    Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Posts:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    I would stay away from the B&M unit. My buddy put one in his and he doesn't like it. I can remember what he didn't like about it, but I cna find out.

    My bro was going to get one of these kits and we were looking into either the Painless or TCI since they were less expensive and Jegs said they both work good!

    Mike [​IMG]
    See <font color=green>EMMETT</font color=green> -&gt; <A target="_blank" HREF=http://emmett.coloradok5.com>http://emmett.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  3. Wheels

    Wheels 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Posts:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Native Floridian living in Oklahoma, USA
    Thanks. I've been thinking the Painless way myself.
     
  4. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Wheels...what case are you going to run? I thought about the same conversion but wanted to stay with my 203 over a 208. Didn't know if it was a bolt up or if there is a spline problem or if the 350 adaptor needed to be swapped.

    Diging it in the dirt with my K5's
    Grim-Reaper
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://grimsk5s.coloradok5.com/>http://grimsk5s.coloradok5.com/</A>
     
  5. I used a painless on a camero I built,it works like the factory setup on my 82K5.It uses a vacume switch to un lock the converter.The 700 and the 350 use the same adapter but if your going to use a 203 You need a diff output shaft for the 700.The only app where a 700 will bolt in was 81 which had the 350/208 combo.Good luck
     
  6. Triaged

    Triaged 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Posts:
    3,808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA (LA/OC area)
    I thought about doing the same conversion. I thought about just using a shitch. It would be nice to have control but what if someone else barrowed your truck?

    '71 Blazer CST with alot of rust
     
  7. You can put a switch in line with painless kit and have auto or manual control.
     
  8. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    190
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Just a thought, lots of people do this, myself, no because I like automatic operation, but you can use a toggle switch inline to engage the torque converter if you like. Thats all you need wiring for in the first place. Or go swipe the setup off a junkyard truck early 80's with 700R4. At least you know it will fit : )

    Dorian
    My K5 and Chev/Olds tech/links page: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</A>
     

Share This Page