Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

th-400 kickdown...

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by broncoman6524, Dec 29, 2006.

  1. broncoman6524

    broncoman6524 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chuluota Fl
    ok ive always thought taht a th400 used vacuum to operate kickdown...apparently its an electric swith. Correct? And the place to plug the wiring is on the pass side of the tranny behind the dipstick (towards t-case) and its just 1prong sticking out?

    How do i wire up/rig something to make the tranny kickdown when the i mash the skinny pedal? If it matters its an 84 k5 350 and it WAS a 700 till it died:haha:
     
  2. bronc3buster842001

    bronc3buster842001 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Posts:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    leadwood missouri
    the trucks that had the 400 orignaly had a switch the mounted to the gas pedal bracket . so just find a truck that had a 400 in it a get the switch
     
  3. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    The switch goes on the bracket that holds the gas pedal. One wire goes to a fused "Hot in run" power feed in the fuse panel. The other wire goes to the connector on the side of the trans.

    I got my switch from an old Jeep Wagoneer. The full size ones. They came with Turbo 400's in the early 70's.
     
  4. broncoman6524

    broncoman6524 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chuluota Fl
    ok, can i get this from like any vehicle that had a th400? i mean like malibus, chevelles, w.e. i find? lol and will a th350 one work too?
     
  5. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,968
    Likes Received:
    461
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    Well, 350's have a mechanical kickdown via cable.

    A switch is a switch is a switch; all you gotta do is run 12V to that terminal on the side of the tranny, and it'll engage the solenoid and do its thing.

    Warning: It will REALLY kick down ;)

    There are LOTS of TH400 equipped pickups out there in the junkyards, though.

    -- A
     
  6. k30bb468

    k30bb468 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NW Pennsylvania
    Has to be from a T400 ,T350 uses a cable.
    Here's a few pics of the stuff you need to look for.
    Kick down switch
    T400 stuff 004 (Small).jpg
    harness from tranny to firewall
    T400 stuff 005 (Small).jpg
    harness from switch to fuse panel & to firewall
    T400 stuff 006 (Small).jpg

    T400 stuff 004 (Small).jpg

    T400 stuff 005 (Small).jpg

    T400 stuff 006 (Small).jpg
     
  7. broncoman6524

    broncoman6524 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chuluota Fl
    hey boss man? care to put those into just htmls not attachments?:( lol. and thanks guys!
     
  8. 6.2puller

    6.2puller 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Posts:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    I believe you will find it to be on the drivers side of the tranny not the passanger side. Almost across from the vacume module.
     
  9. broncoman6524

    broncoman6524 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chuluota Fl
    gotcha...does it matter if the switch is on hte gas pedal or on the carb linkage? i was lookin on google and chevelles had then on the linkages and opend up when stomped. Or should i just stick to a truck/van/burb/k5 style kickdown...thanks
     
  10. 6.2puller

    6.2puller 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Posts:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Just an on off switch, should not matter where it is located as long as it functions as the throtle moves.
     
  11. broncoman6524

    broncoman6524 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chuluota Fl
    10-4 im gonna try and go to the yards tue bc i htink theyre closed on mon. lol ill hopefully get what i need so i can get htis **** workin. lol
     
  12. 3 on the tree

    3 on the tree 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    gunnison colorado
    Just mount a push type starter button on the floor, under the gas pedal.:D
     

Share This Page