Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TH350 and 203 to 205 compatibility?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by the beast, Mar 10, 2005.

  1. the beast

    the beast 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Posts:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    I've got to replace the transmission in the Beast. It currently has a th350 w/ a 205. I got a th350 out of my donor truck that was connected to a 203.

    Will this be a direct bolt up, or will I need to change things on the 203 tranny? :confused: :dunno:
     
  2. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,552
    Likes Received:
    546
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    203 and 205 same output shaft in tranny. go for it bolt it up.
     
  3. AkMudr

    AkMudr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Posts:
    917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alaska
    All th350's were 27 spline,
    SM465's were 10 spline, HOWEVER, 32 spline from 86ish and up
    TH400's were 32 spline, can be either short or long output shaft

    np205 had 2 front outputs, 10 spline and 30 spline..easiest way to tell..if thers a 1310 yoke, its a 10 spline.....if theres a flat flange, 30 spline...IIRC 77 ish and under was 10 spline, 77^ obviously 30 spline..
     
  4. the beast

    the beast 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Posts:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    Thanks guys. My big concern was if the trannys were compatible.

    I'll be running just the 205 for a while until I get the big axles in and the plate for a doubler. :D

    This takes a major load off my mind. I need to get this truck back on the road.
     

Share This Page